The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
I do not see a delay situation here. Why do you think this is a technical foul?

Rule 7-5-2a states the official shall place the ball at the disposal of...

Case 7-5-1 Situation B covers this one. After waiting a reasonable amount of time, place the ball on the floor and begin the count.
__________________
Los Angeles Ca
"You can fool some of the people all of the time, all the people some of the time, but not all the people all of the time." - Abraham Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
RPP doesn't apply...but that doesn't mean you don't put the ball down and count. When A is due a throwin, you are to either hand them the ball or make it available for the throwin. It's up to team A to get someone to the spot to make the throw in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
RPP doesn't apply...but that doesn't mean you don't put the ball down and count. When A is due a throwin, you are to either hand them the ball or make it available for the throwin. It's up to team A to get someone to the spot to make the throw in.
In reading rule 4-38, it seems to include throw-ins as RPP. When you go to 7-5-1, it is not as clear. Both of these are changes from last year (I believe). I think everyone is still working under the previous thoughts that RPP is only applied after T.O.'s & intermissions. However, I do not immediately get that from reading these rules. As you state you can employ this method regardless, imo. Hopefully common sense is also used here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 02:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
In reading rule 4-38, it seems to include throw-ins as RPP. When you go to 7-5-1, it is not as clear. Both of these are changes from last year (I believe). I think everyone is still working under the previous thoughts that RPP is only applied after T.O.'s & intermissions. However, I do not immediately get that from reading these rules. As you state you can employ this method regardless, imo. Hopefully common sense is also used here.
See case book play 7.5.1SitB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1