The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 44
Simultaneous Common and Intentional

I had this situation last week in girls 6th grade league. Both teams are in bonus. My partner calls a foul on B1 on a rebound attempt. As my partner is whistling, I see A2 push B2 with both hands in the back away from the play. I called intentional foul on A2. We had A1 shoot 1 and 1, then B2 shoot 2 at the other end. Then we gave ball to team B at centerline opposite table. Was this right?

What if it was not called intentional, and therefore called a double foul? No shots and POI, which would have been AP?

What if it was "more" after my partner called his foul, and I considererd it a dead ball hence a T on A2? I think this situation would need to be administered the way we administered it. Right?
__________________
Sorry, no signature.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
I had this situation last week in girls 6th grade league. Both teams are in bonus. My partner calls a foul on B1 on a rebound attempt. As my partner is whistling, I see A2 push B2 with both hands in the back away from the play. I called intentional foul on A2. We had A1 shoot 1 and 1, then B2 shoot 2 at the other end. Then we gave ball to team B at centerline opposite table. Was this right?
You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity". I'd call it a false simultaneous in my head, but not out loud. After all the shots, the ball does not go into play at the centerline, but nearest the spot of the intentional foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
What if it was not called intentional, and therefore called a double foul? No shots and POI, which would have been AP?
It wouldn't be a double foul. Ever. That's because the fouls weren't committed by opponents against each other. But you would have the penalty part correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
What if it was "more" after my partner called his foul, and I considererd it a dead ball hence a T on A2? I think this situation would need to be administered the way we administered it. Right?
Right, in this case, the ball would go into play at the division line.

Last edited by rainmaker; Fri Oct 12, 2007 at 09:07am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 11:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity".
Rules citation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rules citation?
I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either.
I think JR is right on here, I just followed down the path I was lead...7.5.3 doesn't differentiate between what type of foul occurred, it just says that if it is a simultaneous foul then you go to POI...fouls are either personal or technical (with a subset of each), if you have either simultaneous personal fouls or simultaneous technical fouls you go POI...you can't have a simultaneous personal/technical foul so no need to worry there....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 01:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul. I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul.

not only a double foul, "offset" would also be on a simultaneous foul (7.5.3.b)

I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.
if the whistles/fouls occurred at approximately the same time in this case, then here is your example of an intentional and "standard personal" occurring at the same time, in which case there would be no ft's and you would go POI(as JR correctly states)....if the intentional followed the personal, then it would be a technical b/c the ball would be dead...in this case you would penalize each in order (shoot all ft's) and put the ball in play at division line opposite...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 04:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul. I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.
If you had a double technical foul composed of an ordinary "T" and a flagrant "T", would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?
Same question for a simultaneous technical foul consisting of a regular ol' "T" and a flagrant "T"......would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Oct 12, 2007 at 05:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either.
4-19-10 gives us the fact that this is a simultaneous personal foul. (Remember, intentional and flagrant are just modifiers of personal or technical.)

The penalty section 1(d) gives us the fact that we don't give FTs for a simultaneous personal foul.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If the 2nd foul was an intentional, you should have put the ball in play at the spot nearest that foul.

Had it been a technical, what you did would have been correct.

And rainmaker is right, this is a false double all the way no matter what kind of fouls you call on A2.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the 2nd foul was an intentional, you should have put the ball in play at the spot nearest that foul.

Had it been a technical, what you did would have been correct.

And rainmaker is right, this is a false double all the way no matter what kind of fouls you call on A2.
Wait a minute, I didn't say it would be a false double, only that it wouldn't be double. It couldn't be a false double, could it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Wait a minute, I didn't say it would be a false double, only that it wouldn't be double. It couldn't be a false double, could it?
Sounds like a false double foul to me. The second one occured before the clock started following the first. But don't get hung up on the terminology. Just assess them in order and all is well.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:30am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
I vote false double.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraman
Just assess them in order and all is well.
Yea, I figured that out a long time ago. Doesn't matter what the verbiage is.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 09:59am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
You were right. Your partner's whistle made the ball dead, so the first foul was a personal, the second a technical (intentional or flagrant contact during a dead ball). You cannot "combine" them. Administer them separately in the order in which they occurred.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Common Rules Myths TwoBits Baseball 7 Wed Mar 02, 2005 04:22pm
dumb ? explain a common foul to me roadking Basketball 12 Thu Apr 01, 2004 07:57am
What's the rule, what's the call, what's common sense? rainmaker Basketball 16 Mon Oct 13, 2003 12:09pm
Common Sense and Fair Play? His High Holiness Baseball 19 Sat Apr 12, 2003 07:39pm
Common Sense Umpiring ENelson Baseball 10 Sun Mar 31, 2002 02:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1