![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
No definitive case was cited, and no explanation of the apparent conflict between 4-11-2 and 4-11-3 was given, that I could find. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The other says: Continuous motion does not apply if the offense fouls. Neither contains the word "only" (as in "only the defense / offense fouls"). Regardless of whether you allow the try to continue, you are "ignoring" one of the rules. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Simple enough. But what if on this play A1 takes 7 steps after he is fouled by B1 and before he releases the ball? If the travel causes the ball to become dead, we are not ignoring the rule which allowed it to remain alive, are we?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 has started a try. B2 fouls A2....continuous motion on. A1 fouls B1 before releasing the shot. Is The same logic that says continuous motion applies when a teammate fouls also suggest that continuous motion applies so that A1 can complete the shot in this case. However, we know that any infraction by A1 kills the ball...even though the continuous motion rule says A1 gets to complete the shot....but that is assuming there is not another complicating infraction. Its not mentioned, but such things are always implied in several rules. All possible cases are not cited in the case book (the book would be 1000 pages if so) but it is very clear that offensive infractions always kill the ball if the try has not been released (and sometimes after). Repeating the cite by Nev.. 4.19.8 SITUATION D: A1 has possession of the ball and is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation when A4 and B4 are whistled for a double foul. RULING: A4 and B4 are charged with personal fouls and play shall resume from the point of interruption. A1 receives the ball to attempt the one-and-one free throw with the lane spaces properly occupied. (4-36-2b; 7-5-9)If that's not definitive, we might as well burn to books since they're useless.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Sep 25, 2007 at 12:00pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
barryb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Since the foul by the teammate of the shooter causes the ball to become dead, wouldn't the ruling be the same whether the try had started or not? I thought no continuous motion is what I was arguing for.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I also agree that the rules references simply aren't definitive.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| foul during free throw | just another ref | Basketball | 7 | Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:51pm |
| Double Violation on free throw | Largent | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm |
| Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |
| Question about double violation on free throw | Damian | Basketball | 10 | Sat Sep 27, 2003 05:14pm |
| Free Throw/Double Violation? | OK Ref | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am |