The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
If we are talking about a double foul, then I do not believe it does. At least from reading all the cases under the "double foul". Otherwise I would agree.
I agree if we are talking about a double foul, but I mentioned a violation, such as swinging elbows or running OOB to avoid a screen or box out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski
I agree if we are talking about a double foul, but I mentioned a violation, such as swinging elbows or running OOB to avoid a screen or box out.
Of course, I apologize... one track mind. Note to self; read more carefully. This has been a very interesting discussion from something I originally thought was very simple.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 05:18pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Is the wording significant on 4-11-3 in that it says ....if a teammate fouls...the ball becomes dead immediately. ?

This as opposed to .....if a team control foul is committed ......the ball immediately becomes dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 05:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Is the wording significant on 4-11-3 in that it says ....if a teammate fouls...the ball becomes dead immediately. ?

This as opposed to .....if a team control foul is committed ......the ball immediately becomes dead.
Now you're just arguing grammantics.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
We have discussed this play before.

A1 starts a try for goal, but has not yet released the ball when A2 and B2 commit a double foul.

The correct ruling is that continuous motion does NOT apply and the game is resumed with the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 08:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
We have discussed this play before.

A1 starts a try for goal, but has not yet released the ball when A2 and B2 commit a double foul.

The correct ruling is that continuous motion does NOT apply and the game is resumed with the POI.
Sigh.....

Got a definitive rules citation to back that up?

Btw, could you also point me to the previous discussion?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Sep 24, 2007 at 08:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Sigh.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Got a definitive rules citation to back that up?
The already cited 4-11-3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Btw, could you also point me to the previous discussion?
No, the search function on this forum rarely returns what I want. I just end up wasting my time. You'll have to locate it yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 10:16pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Sigh.....

Got a definitive rules citation to back that up?

Btw, could you also point me to the previous discussion?

Do you say that 4-11-3 is not applicable here? Do you have a rule citation, definitive or otherwise, to support that idea?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 03:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Sigh.....

Got a definitive rules citation to back that up?

Btw, could you also point me to the previous discussion?
Your approach is getting really old. How about posting a reason the statement is not valid rather implying you don't believe a post and ask them to prove it. If you have reason to believe it untrue, give something more intelligent than "Sigh... Got a definitive rules citation to back that up?". Offer something useful....something that couters the claim.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
We have discussed this play before.

A1 starts a try for goal, but has not yet released the ball when A2 and B2 commit a double foul.

The correct ruling is that continuous motion does NOT apply and the game is resumed with the POI.
Yes, we have discussed this before. The search (I used double foul continuous motion) turned up several such threads. And, almost all of the opinions (including Jurassic's) were that continuous motion did not apply. The opinions were based on the same (and inadequate, imo) references as in this thread.

No definitive case was cited, and no explanation of the apparent conflict between 4-11-2 and 4-11-3 was given, that I could find.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 08:00am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
no explanation of the apparent conflict between 4-11-2 and 4-11-3 was given
How is it a conflict?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 08:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
And, almost all of the opinions (including Jurassic's) were that continuous motion did not apply. The opinions were based on the same (and inadequate, imo) references as in this thread.
Gee, I guess that you've changed Jurassic's mind. I also agree that the rules references simply aren't definitive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foul during free throw just another ref Basketball 7 Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:51pm
Double Violation on free throw Largent Basketball 11 Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm
Question about double violation on free throw Damian Basketball 10 Sat Sep 27, 2003 05:14pm
Free Throw/Double Violation? OK Ref Basketball 5 Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1