The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Why does team control exist after the ball has struck an official?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 09:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Why does team control exist after the ball has struck an official?
Because that team never lost control. Player control--yes.

NFHS rule 4-12-3&4.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Why does team control exist after the ball has struck an official?
How does team control end?

A shot is taken.
B gains control.
The ball becomes dead.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
How does team control end?

A shot is taken.
B gains control.
The ball becomes dead.
Does Socrates answer his own questions?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
For the record, I don't believe that either of the two plays which I posted are backcourt violations according to the rules as written. For this argument it is very important that people make the distinction between backcourt violations due to article 1 and those due to article 2. You can't mix parts of each and come up with a violation.

It is clear that 9-9-1 cannot be used to justify a backcourt violation in either case as no player from the offensive team touched the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. That article very clearly states that this is required.

So if either of these cases were to be violations 9-9-2 would have to be the provision being broken. However, that article has two clauses in it that have particular bearing on these plays.
The first is that it states "... a player shall not ..." Thus the article is written as a prohibition on a single player, not against a team. It does not contain the word teammate at all. The team article is 9-9-1.
So I wrote the first case to have the ball return to a teammate of the passer, not the passer himself. Strictly that does not break 9-9-2.
The second clause of importance is "in the backcourt." Tony has correctly pointed out that the touching does NOT need to occur "in the backcourt" for a violation under 9-9-1, but for situations governed by 9-9-2, this certainly is a requirement. Thus the second play was carefully crafted to have the original passer retouch the ball in the FRONTCOURT instead of the backcourt. So again, the exact wording of the text has not been infringed.

The dribble defintion is something that I only briefly considered, and is why I wrote that the player had not previously dribbled.

I'm now wondering if 4-4-6 and it's interpretations have made it nearly impossible for a violation to be committed under 9-9-2. The only situation that I can think of is a player throwing the ball from his own backcourt off the backboard in his frontcourt and having it return to him untouched. That would be a violation because 4-4-5 says that this action is not a dribble.

For example, if a player is standing still in his backcourt a few feet from the division line and tosses the ball with backspin into the frontcourt where it bounces and returns untouched to the player who has not moved would that be a dribble and thus the ball never attained frontcourt status per 4-4-5 or would that be a violation of 9-9-2?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Wrong as usual.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 01:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Well, Tony, you're the backcourt guru, but not even you can deny what is there in black and white.

One can't use the 4 points summary for these plays because that really is attempting to subject these plays to what's in 9-9-1, and I've clearly made the case that that isn't appropriate as the ball was not touched in the frontcourt.

So if you still believe that my opinion is mistaken, then please explain why. I seriously and nonsarcastically await your wisdom.

PS Don't provide a case play in which the offensive team does touch the ball in the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 02:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Wrong as usual.
Agree of course, but Good Lord, please don't argue it with him. We'll get another of his 10,000 word eye-glazing sleep-inducing confusing rules soliloquys, trying to prove that white is black and east is west. Again.

Let silly monkeys lay iow.

Taurus excreta cerebrum vincit!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
Quote:
It is a violation in case 1. Look at ART 2 of the rule. Control in the front court is not required.
True, I must admitt I didn't think so far (I stared myself blind at the 3 points, wich I now think should be changed slightly).

Quote:
think that the criteria that crazy voyager laid out above are slighlty incorrect (at least for NCAA and FED -- FIBA might be different):
These criterias I've been taught in regards to fiba rules, I'm not sure about other rules set but I belive the ncaa have somewhat diffrent thinking regarding bc violations (not sure about fed). But yes for most other rulesets this would probably not be completly right (and as it turned out, they're not exactly right for fiba either, but then again these are 3 points to make it easier for officials to learn what is a bc and what's not, they're not the rulebook).
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Question TussAgee11 Basketball 11 Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:23pm
Another Backcourt question ranjo Basketball 10 Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:36am
Backcourt Question Bchill24 Basketball 3 Fri Dec 12, 2003 09:56am
Backcourt Question fletch_irwin_m Basketball 10 Mon Jul 21, 2003 05:42pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1