![]() |
|
|||
Slowww down a minute......
Reading the OP again, the BALL was contacted by the player, not the net. Shouldn't we be looking at the situation that pertains to this play???
Rule 4.6.1 NFHS Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. From the OP, the Ball was on the basket while it was touched. Sounds like the partner got it right. NFHS 9.11.1 Situation A: A1 taps the ball toward Team A’s basket. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket or on the basket ring: (a) B1 touches the ball; or (b) A2 touches the ball. Ruling: In (a), basket interference by B1 causes the ball to become dead and the official shall award Team A two points. In (b), the basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead. No basket. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in from the out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. (4-6; 6-7-8)
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most. -- George R. Kirkpatrick Last edited by SeanFitzRef; Wed Aug 08, 2007 at 05:15pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
possible basket interference | 4thekids | Basketball | 9 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 01:10am |
Resurrecting an old thread: BI or GT at wrong basket | rwest | Basketball | 8 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 09:16am |
another thread on coaches interference | ref5678 | Softball | 1 | Sat Jun 11, 2005 08:14pm |
Basket Interference or not?? | ref18 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm |
CAN WE GO THROUGH THE RUNNER INTERFERENCE AGAIN? (NEW THREAD) | TheBigEZ | Baseball | 9 | Wed May 30, 2001 03:59pm |