The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 03:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
I thought that the clock can't start until "the ball is legally touched inbounds". A kicked ball is not a legal touch therefore no time should come off the clock right?

Rule in this case does not say legally touched, only "ball touches or is touched by a player on the court."

But why does starting the clock as per this rule take precedence over 5-8-1 which says stop clock on violation? No one has answered this question as far as I know.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 04:09pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
But why does starting the clock as per this rule take precedence over 5-8-1 which says stop clock on violation? No one has answered this question as far as I know.
That question has already been answered several times. How many times does it have to be answered before you'll understand that?

1) The official is supposed to start the clock on a throw-in as per rule 5-9-4 as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. There is no provision anywhere in the rules to NOT start the clock.
2) If a player on the court now commits a violation, the official is supposed to stop the clock for that violation as per rule 5-8-1(c).

You simply follow the RULES in order. Whether the touch and the kicking violation are simultaneous or not has got no bearing on anything. You start the clock. You stop the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 04:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) The official is supposed to start the clock on a throw-in as per rule 5-9-4 as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. There is no provision anywhere in the rules to NOT start the clock.
2) If a player on the court now commits a violation, the official is supposed to stop the clock for that violation as per rule 5-8-1(c).

You simply follow the RULES in order. Whether the touch and the kicking violation are simultaneous or not has got no bearing on anything. You start the clock. You stop the clock.
6-7-9 states: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: a violation occurs.

So you're telling me you start the clock even though the ball became dead on the touch/kick in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 04:52pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
I thought that the clock can't start until "the ball is legally touched inbounds".
btaylor, have you gone to the rulebook and read 5-9-4, as Jurassic has suggested?

Quote:
It would be the same as a player stealing the tap at the start of the game. if time comes off the clock you put 8:00 back on the clock before the inbounding of the ball?
Got a rule reference for that one?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
I thought that the clock can't start until "the ball is legally touched inbounds".
Not under NF rules (even though many of us would like it to read that way).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 07:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Why is this so hard?

Posts like this are the very reason why I cannot stand these rules discussions. It is so funny how people make something so complicated out of something that is so simple. If you do not know what to do, look at what the rules say. If you cannot find something that supports your position, then do not follow it.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
btaylor, have you gone to the rulebook and read 5-9-4, as Jurassic has suggested?


Got a rule reference for that one?
No I haven't. I don't have my high school rulebook. I guess I just took it for granted and thought that this part of the rulebook read like every other rulebook and used the word "legally touched" but I guess it doesn't. Wow that's crazy. I don't guess I will be resetting the clock on the jump ball after all. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 11:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
No I haven't. I don't have my high school rulebook. I guess I just took it for granted and thought that this part of the rulebook read like every other rulebook and used the word "legally touched" but I guess it doesn't. Wow that's crazy. I don't guess I will be resetting the clock on the jump ball after all. Thanks
You can if you determine the original toss was bad. Other than that....
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 06:13am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Posts like this are the very reason why I cannot stand these rules discussions. It is so funny how people make something so complicated out of something that is so simple. If you do not know what to do, look at what the rules say. If you cannot find something that supports your position, then do not follow it.
Look for a discussion on this on the paid side shortly. That oughta staighten all of this out.

Not that I'm cynical or anything.....
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 08:31am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Got a rule reference for that one?
I do. NFHS rule 5-9-2 says that if play is started by a jump, the clock starts when the tossed ball is legally touched. If the player steals the tap, that's an illegal touch and the clock should never have started. Soooooo.....under rule 5-10-1, the official has definite information and the clock is reset to 8:00. Iow, Ben's statement as is was correct imo.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
How about this…
I understand JR’s response that by rule the clock must start when touched during the throw-in, legally or not. However, the clock also must stop on a violation such as a kick. Now, as per the OP, these two acts happen at exactly the same time. Soooo, when considering the space-time-continuum, that would equal a total amount of elapsed time of 0.0 seconds. If this is the case, then we would have exact knowledge of the time elapsed (which would be 0 time) and would conclude that the clock should indicate that no time should have come off. When looked at it from this approach we would still satisfy the rule that the clock must start when the ball is touch on the throw-in and that it would be stopped on the violation. These acts just happen to occur at the exact same time.
Alright, let me have it….
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski
How about this…
I understand JR’s response that by rule the clock must start when touched during the throw-in, legally or not. However, the clock also must stop on a violation such as a kick. Now, as per the OP, these two acts happen at exactly the same time. Soooo, when considering the space-time-continuum, that would equal a total amount of elapsed time of 0.0 seconds. If this is the case, then we would have exact knowledge of the time elapsed (which would be 0 time) and would conclude that the clock should indicate that no time should have come off. When looked at it from this approach we would still satisfy the rule that the clock must start when the ball is touch on the throw-in and that it would be stopped on the violation. These acts just happen to occur at the exact same time.
Alright, let me have it….
Since the clock must start and stop, any time that runs off the clock is NOT a timing error and therefore is not subject to the definite knowledge rule.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:51am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I do. NFHS rule 5-9-2 says that if play is started by a jump, the clock starts when the tossed ball is legally touched. If the player steals the tap, that's an illegal touch and the clock should never have started.
I just hate it when I'm wrong about little details like that.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 09:56am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Since the clock must start and stop, any time that runs off the clock is NOT a timing error and therefore is not subject to the definite knowledge rule.
5-9-1:........the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.


When does this part apply, somebody, if not in the case in question?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Since the clock must start and stop, any time that runs off the clock is NOT a timing error and therefore is not subject to the definite knowledge rule.
With that said, it would really come down to how the official signaled the events and what the timer did. If the official simply kept his hand up during the throw-in and ensuing kick and the timer never started the clock, all is well. However, if there was a quick chop and then a hand raised with the clock starting and stopping quickly, we are alright as well according to rule. It would seem to me that what time leally ticks off the clock is dependent on how the officials and the timer react to the play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kick Ball? hbioteach Basketball 15 Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:56pm
Holding ball between legs... kick ball? bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Fri Feb 11, 2005 06:23pm
Kick Ball on AP Throw-in rpirtle Basketball 71 Sat Jan 10, 2004 02:21am
kick ball question? VPKII Basketball 12 Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:57am
Why some call Kick Ball and others don't!!! MREUROREF Basketball 16 Sat Jan 06, 2001 09:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1