The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 12:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So not only do I question the rules knowledge of the officials on this game, but they also failed their course in logic.
Oh, now that's just cold hearted.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
sorry about the typo -- correction is fixed.

And to make clear -- ball is simultaneously tapped by A1 and B1 towards division line after the missed FT by A, ball bounces once, then A2 jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball, and lands in the front court as the whistle blows.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
sorry about the typo -- correction is fixed.

And to make clear -- ball is simultaneously tapped by A1 and B1 towards division line after the missed FT by A, ball bounces once, then A2 jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball, and lands in the front court as the whistle blows.
If that is the case, then this play is not interesting at all. It is NEVER a violation to jump from the BACKCOURT and land in the FRONTCOURT. It can only be a violation if the player goes the other direction.

The play that is thought-provoking is when A2 goes the other direction. For this case, see my post above.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
I agree with the clinician. If A has the ball in hand when the whistle blows give the ball to A. If it is loose when whistle is blown, go to the AP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
I agree with the clinician. If A has the ball in hand when the whistle blows give the ball to A. If it is loose when whistle is blown, go to the AP.
That part may well be incorrect. If team control existed before the ball became loose, then there is still team control during the loose ball. Thus going to the AP arrow would be incorrect. POI is still the proper decision.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That part may well be incorrect. If team control existed before the ball became loose, then there is still team control during the loose ball. Thus going to the AP arrow would be incorrect. POI is still the proper decision.
Sorry, just bad terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It is NEVER a violation to jump from the BACKCOURT and land in the FRONTCOURT. It can only be a violation if the player goes the other direction.
Uh, you better think about this one a little more.

For instance, Team A contols the ball in their frontcourt. A2 is holding the ball awaiting A1, who paused coming up court to talk to Coach A. B applies pressure and A2 passes the ball toward A1 in order to avoid the 5 count. A1 jumps the midcourt line and receives the ball in the air, before establishing frontcourt status.

Violation, correct?? Same as if A1 had OOB status.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 11:32am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartsy
For instance, Team A contols the ball in their frontcourt. A2 is holding the ball awaiting A1, who paused coming up court to talk to Coach A. B applies pressure and A2 passes the ball toward A1 in order to avoid the 5 count. A1 jumps the midcourt line and receives the ball in the air, before establishing frontcourt status.

Violation, correct??
Yes, but not because the player landed in the frontcourt. The violation is for causing the ball to go into the backcourt, which happened as soon as A1 catches the ball.

Nevadaref's point was that it's never a violation to have the ball in the backcourt and then cause it to go to the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If that is the case, then this play is not interesting at all. It is NEVER a violation to jump from the BACKCOURT and land in the FRONTCOURT. It can only be a violation if the player goes the other direction.
Wait.

If the ball has frontcourt status, last touched by A, and A1 touches it in this situation, you have a backcourt violation the moment A1 touches the ball, as he still has backcourt status until he lands in the frontcourt.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Wait.

If the ball has frontcourt status, last touched by A, and A1 touches it in this situation, you have a backcourt violation the moment A1 touches the ball, as he still has backcourt status until he lands in the frontcourt.
You and Hartsy both took that out of context. It was written for a situation in which there is no team control when the player becomes airborne. I'm only talking about a situation in which a player from a team causes the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt. My sentence specifies that. It does NOT pertain to a situation in which the team causes the ball to go: frontcourt to the backcourt and back to the frontcourt. That is the example which the two of you gave.

Additionally, Scrapper pointed out that in your scenario the violation would occur prior to the player landing, no matter if he lands in the frontcourt or the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You and Hartsy both took that out of context. It was written for a situation in which there is no team control when the player becomes airborne. I'm only talking about a situation in which a player from a team causes the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt. My sentence specifies that. It does NOT pertain to a situation in which the team causes the ball to go: frontcourt to the backcourt and back to the frontcourt. That is the example which the two of you gave.
Yabut - you emphasized NEVER. Triply so. Just pointing out the semantics of the words, if you will.

Quote:
Additionally, Scrapper pointed out that in your scenario the violation would occur prior to the player landing, no matter if he lands in the frontcourt or the backcourt.
Yup. We all agree on that.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2007, 02:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Yabut - you emphasized NEVER. Triply so. Just pointing out the semantics of the words, if you will.



Yup. We all agree on that.
Remember you have to read it in that philosophical, Jesuit way.

Now if you want semantics, I could amend it, just for you, to say:
"If the player does not violate immediately upon touching the ball, it is NEVER..."

But it's not really necessary to do so since I didn't say anything about the ball in that post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent Whistle & Lane Violation Question South GA BBall Ref Basketball 2 Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:19pm
Delaying the whistle question johnnyrao Basketball 15 Sat Feb 04, 2006 09:44pm
Inadvertant Whistle Question rockyroad Football 3 Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:25am
3-Whistle Mechanics Question RookieDude Basketball 9 Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:56pm
3 Whistle Question RookieDude Basketball 3 Sun Nov 28, 2004 05:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1