![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
From the NFHS casebook:
4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41) The NCAA rule is the same as the HS one. RULE 4, Section 66 A.R. 105. A1 attempts a try at Team A’s basket after having completed the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court. Is this traveling?
RULING: When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule. However, the NBA has a rule which says that this is a traveling violation. RULE 10, Section XIII f. A player who attempts a field goal may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, basket ring or another player. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tip on shot rebound | lukealex | Basketball | 21 | Fri Oct 20, 2006 04:43pm |
| Question - Offensive Hooking - Whats the call? | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 18 | Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:33pm |
| Rebound Positioning | johnnyrao | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 15, 2004 09:08am |
| OOB Rebound | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 10 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am |
| Airball Rebound... | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:53pm |