The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Scoring - Shooting through the rim wrong way...

I've heard that it is legal to socre a basket by shooting the ball through the bottom of the rim and it coming back down through the rim... As long as the plane of the rim was broken by the ball - this is a legal basket...

IS THIS TRUE?!?

Can anybody give me a link to confirm or deny this rule?!?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Mattfish,

NO IT'S NOT TRUE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
NO

Rule 5 Scoring and Timing Regulations
SECTION 1 GOAL
ART. 1 . . . A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
NO

Rule 5 Scoring and Timing Regulations
SECTION 1 GOAL
ART. 1 . . . A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.
I can see an arguement from the OP...if it comes from underneath the basket, passes upwards through it, stops and falls directly back through the basket from above then it does enter from above.

Just yanking your chain...
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault...I said I was going to blame you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:30pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
NO

Rule 5 Scoring and Timing Regulations
SECTION 1 GOAL
ART. 1 . . . A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.
But the ball does pass through from above. It just passed through from below first. So the really important citation is:

Quote:
9-4 A player shall not travel with the ball, as in 4-44, intentionally kick it, as in 4-29, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.

PENALTY: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in fromt he designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.
Since the ball is dead as soon as passes through the basket from below, it cannot be scored when it then passes back through from above.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But the ball does pass through from above. It just passed through from below first. So the really important citation is:


Since the ball is dead as soon as passes through the basket from below, it cannot be scored when it then passes back through from above.
Yes. Correct. I could not find it earlier and got busy at work. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks all!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
You're welcome. I'm included in "all," right?
__________________
Luther
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
You're welcome. I'm included in "all," right?
Why would you think so? You weren't one of those who responded.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
Because I'm in "all." He didn't say "all who responded."
__________________
Luther
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
Because I'm in "all." He didn't say "all who responded."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scoring on the wrong basket IREFU2 Basketball 15 Thu Jun 01, 2006 06:49pm
Shooting at the wrong basket AVONOH Basketball 7 Wed Jan 18, 2006 01:54pm
Shooting at wrong basket flaref0812 Basketball 5 Mon Oct 31, 2005 03:46pm
Shooting at wrong goal rwest Basketball 10 Sat Oct 22, 2005 08:01am
Shooting at wrong basket barney Basketball 6 Fri Feb 04, 2000 04:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1