The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2007, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Is anyone else having trouble with this video? It seems that I can get any YouTube video to load except for the two that have been posted on the basketball forum.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
As I looked at this in real time, my first reaction was "block." After reading the thread, I can understand the PC foul call. I do have a question.

A1 lands with his left foot between the feet of B1 (A1's left foot near B1's right foot). A1 turns, weight shifting forward over his left foot and starts the dribble at the same time making contact with B1, not moving the left foot. Because the foot is between the defender's feet, would this be considered not allowing the offensive player to land, even though contact was not made on the actual landing?
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
As I looked at this in real time, my first reaction was "block." After reading the thread, I can understand the PC foul call. I do have a question.

A1 lands with his left foot between the feet of B1 (A1's left foot near B1's right foot). A1 turns, weight shifting forward over his left foot and starts the dribble at the same time making contact with B1, not moving the left foot. Because the foot is between the defender's feet, would this be considered not allowing the offensive player to land, even though contact was not made on the actual landing?
Since DKMZ's old question was answered, maybe mine will be also if I rephrase. B1 gets position as in the video, A1 lands with his left foot clearly between the feet of B1 (in the actual video it is not that cut and dry) - no contact on landing, A1 turns, weight shifting forward but not outside the verticle plane of A1, A1 begins dribble and at the same time makes contact with B1. Do we still have the charge?
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
B1 gets position as in the video, A1 lands with his left foot clearly between the feet of B1 (in the actual video it is not that cut and dry) - no contact on landing, A1 turns, weight shifting forward but not outside the verticle plane of A1, A1 begins dribble and at the same time makes contact with B1. Do we still have the charge?
From your description, it sounds like it's still a charge, especially with no contact on landing. I can't really say for sure without seeing it. I did see the video at the start of this thread though, and imo it certainly was cut and dried that it was a charge. No doubt at all in my mind on that one.

What Bob Jenkins posted back in post #3 on page 1 is still valid. You allow the player with the ball to land. If he lands without contact, you can't have a foul. After that, the LGP rules take over and no time/distance is necessary on the part of the defender.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 12, 2007 at 01:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I did see the video at the start of this thread though, and imo it certainly was cut and dried that it was a block. No doubt at all in my mind on that one.

What Bob Jenkins posted back in post #3 on page 1 is still valid. You allow the player with the ball to land. If he lands without contact, you can't have a foul. After that, the LGP rules take over and no time/distance is necessary on the part of the defender.

?????????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 01:16pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
?????????????????????
Written without thinking, obviously. I went back and changed it.

Thanks, Juulie.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 07:53am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmz
if the offensive player did not have the ball in the video, then the foul would have been on the defense, correct? Going further, what would the correct call be if the offensive player had touched but fumbled the ball and not had control when the contact was made?
This is actually a very good question. It was discussed at some length in this recent thread:

Pick / Charge

Last edited by Scrapper1; Mon Jun 11, 2007 at 01:42pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/Charge IREFU2 Basketball 28 Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm
Block or Charge? tmp44 Basketball 13 Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm
Block/Charge drinkeii Basketball 16 Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1