The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2001, 07:27pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally posted by jroche
Question: Player(team A)is in the backcourt sends a pass headed to the front court but is tipped by player(team B). Intended recipient of pass on (team A) has ball bounce off him as a result of the tipped pass and retreives the ball in the backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?
Yes. This is a violation. Team A is in control. The tip by B1 does not cause a loss of team control by team A, regardless of where B1 was standing at the time of the tip. When A2 got hit by the ball in the frontcourt, the ball established frontcourt status. A2 was last to touch in the frontcourt, and first to touch after the ball was in the backcourt. There was team control. All 4 elements are satisfied. Violation.

Note: the rule is not "touch in the backcourt", but "touch after the ball has been in the backcourt". There's a subtle difference, but it is moot here. The difference would come into play if, for instance, the ball hits an official in the backcourt then bounces back into the frontcourt. There are a few more examples.

[Edited by Mark Padgett on Dec 19th, 2001 at 06:31 PM]
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1