![]() |
|
|||
|
"Here is an NFHS case book play that might explain it a little more fully to you:
Casebook Play 10.6.3SitD: A1 is running towards A's goal but is looking back to receive a pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from B1. (a)A1 runs into B1 before receiving the ball, or (b) A1 receives the ball and runs into B1. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 is responsible for contact. In (a), B1's position is legal if A1 has been given 2 strides prior to contact. In (b), since the position of B1 is legal when A1 has the ball, the contact is charging by B1." Thanks. Clearly by the rules it is a charge. I have a problem with the rule :-). A fast player covers "10 feet" in about .3 seconds. He's supposed to be able to catch a pass, turn his head, see the defender, and avoid him in .3 seconds or less according to both the NFHS and NCAA examples and rules. Indeed, since "speed and distance" do not apply to the player with the ball, the defender doesn't have to give any time or space before stepping in assuming LGP, correct? |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Pick up game dispute regarding block/charge/no call | ATXCoach | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 10, 2006 08:02pm |
| How would you pick this nit? | SC Ump | Softball | 10 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm |
| 3rd to 1st pick off | wpiced | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm |
| Pick off to second | Newbie Scott | Baseball | 1 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm |
| Pick through this One. | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:38am |