The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 02:57pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If A1 had not caught the ball cleanly (he was bobbling it), then it is a block because A1 still has not established control of the ball.

In op the defender was there 2 or 3 steps before the collision, and as I picture it defender remained stationary. In this case, how can it possibly be a block no matter what happens?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Someone help old Sam out here,

When does the stationery B1 tranfer from setting a blind screen to a player taking a charge?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
Someone help old Sam out here,

When does the stationery B1 tranfer from setting a blind screen to a player taking a charge?
When A1 causes contact with him?

I'd say that B1 is guarding A1 from the beginning (getting in the path of an offensive player). Either way, I think B1 fits the description of a legal screen or a legal guarding position.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
When does the stationery B1 tranfer from setting a blind screen to a player taking a charge?
When the person he's screening gains control of the ball.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
When the person he's screening gains control of the ball.
If A1 had not received a pass, it would have been a blind screen with no foul.
Correct?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
A couple other general comments that don't apply to this particular situation. If B1 established his position after A1 became airborne and the contact occurs before A1 lands, then it's a block whether A1 has control of the ball or not.

If A1 had not caught the ball cleanly (he was bobbling it), then it is a block because A1 still has not established control of the ball.
I agree with #1, but could you explain situation #2 a bit more clearly? Is this after airborne A1 comes back down to the ground?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
As I said, that comment wasn't meant to apply to the original post.

I'm picturing A1 jumping to catch the pass and B1 jumping into his path, allowing A1 to return to the floor, but not time and distance to avoid the contact. In that case, (a) if A1 catches the ball, it's a player control foul; (b) if A1 bobbles the ball, it's a block.

Sorry I was unclear.
Has Zorro been unmasked?

Much clearer now, though, although I think that the rules would indicate calling a block in both situations. Both 4-23-4 (opponent with the ball) and 4-23-5 (moving oponent without the ball) state that "If the opponent [with the ball] is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:54pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Much clearer now, though, although I think that the rules would indicate calling a block in both situations. Both 4-23-4 (opponent with the ball) and 4-23-5 (moving oponent without the ball) state that "If the opponent [with the ball] is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor."
Yes, but in Chuck's example, he stated

Quote:
I'm picturing A1 jumping to catch the pass and B1 jumping into his path, allowing A1 to return to the floor, but not time and distance to avoid the contact.
Once A1 returns to the floor, he's no longer airborne. So if B1 is stationary, catch-land-crash is a player control foul, even if B1 got to his spot after A1 went airborne.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Thu May 10, 2007 at 04:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Has Zorro been unmasked?
No.

Merely typing in the wrong window.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 10:50am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Assuming Fed rules...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdShot
1) Block or charge?
Player control foul. Had A1 not caught the ball, it sounds like B1 gave proper time and distance, so he is entitled to that position on the floor. Would have been a charge in that case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdShot
2) Valid call?
Depends. Once the shot attempt has released A1's hands, the 3 second count is terminated and not restarted all criteria exist again. Did that happen? If so, not valid. If blocked while still in A1's hands, you still have the count going.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pick up game dispute regarding block/charge/no call ATXCoach Basketball 12 Fri Nov 10, 2006 08:02pm
How would you pick this nit? SC Ump Softball 10 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm
3rd to 1st pick off wpiced Baseball 8 Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm
Pick off to second Newbie Scott Baseball 1 Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm
Pick through this One. whiskers_ump Softball 7 Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1