The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Question NCAAW Rules

I have a question. If team A starts with 5 players and then the 6th player shows up after halftime to play and is recorded in the official book, can she play or not? Please state the rule section. Had this happen in a game last night, AAU Girls. They use NC2AW rules and mechanics.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
She can play, but her team is charged with a technical foul (when she's added to the book).

Rule 3, Section 3.
Art. 2. After the time limit specified in Rule 3-3.1 and before the start of
the game, a team shall be charged with a maximum of one indirect technical
foul for one or more of the following:
a. Failure to comply with Rule 3-3.1.
b. Adding name(s) to the squad list.
c. Changing squad member’s number(s) without reporting the change(s)
to the scorers and an official.

Because it's an indirect technical foul, it will NOT count towards the bonus for the half in which it occurs. Penalty is two shots for the offended team, then play resumes at the POI.

Edit: Apparently this was my 4 000th post. I'll try not to think about how pathetic that is.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 01:51pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
I have a question. If team A starts with 5 players and then the 6th player shows up after halftime to play and is recorded in the official book, can she play or not? Please state the rule section. Had this happen in a game last night, AAU Girls. They use NC2AW rules and mechanics.
So are you saying she showed up but was already in the book, or that she showed up and then was added to the book...like Mark said, if she had to be added to the book it's a T, but if she was already in the book then she can play with no penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
So are you saying she showed up but was already in the book, or that she showed up and then was added to the book...like Mark said, if she had to be added to the book it's a T, but if she was already in the book then she can play with no penalty.
YMMV with the second part of this. While I've never seen rulebook support for it, I know some referees who insist that the players listed in the scorebook be limited to those players who are actually at the game site at the time the rosters are submitted.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 06:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Nfhs - Iaabo

IAABO Refresher Exam 2005 (NFHS Rules):

Question 73: Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warmup, the referee counts eleven team members of team A but while checking the book team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

Answer: Yes

Rule Citation: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1; Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
For NFHS, I tend to agree with the IAABO interpretation, although the rulebook could be a bit more explicit on this regard.

For NCAA, however, the only requirement is a list of "names and uniform numbers of squad members who may participate" (3-3-1a). The definition of team member (4-63) is the same in both codes.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 06:41pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
IAABO Refresher Exam 2005 (NFHS Rules):

Question 73: Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warmup, the referee counts eleven team members of team A but while checking the book team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

Answer: Yes

Rule Citation: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1; Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4
Note to anybody reading....

That is NOT an official NFHS interpretation. It is an IAABO interpretation only, and IAABO interpretations are not official NFHS interpretations. I've also talked to several IAABO interpreters who do NOT agree with whoever came up this one either. Our association rules interpreter certainly disagreed with it, as do I.

There is nothing rules-wise that definitively backs up that interpretation. The rules cited by IAABO above sureashell don't. R3-2-1 simply says that each team has to supply the scorer with the name and number of each team member. There is nothing anywhere in the rules that states that a team member entered in the book must also be physically present when his/her name and number are put in the book. Similarly, rule 4-34-4 simply says that a team member must be in uniform and a member of bench personnel to become a player. It doesn't state when those requirements have to be met.

I can just see telling a coach that his player in the locker room getting taped during warm-up won't be allowed to play because they weren't on the court when an official counted the players. Or maybe a player in the dressing room in the bathroom......

You always have to be careful when reading non-NFHS issued interpretations. Do not take anything as gospel just because it came from IAABO or appeared in Referee magazine. Neither of those sources are official NFHS sources, and both have been guilty in the past numerous times of making wrong rulings.

Silly monkeys......
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 09:55pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
1) I cannot find my copy of the IAABO 2006-07 Refresher Exam and Answer Key, so I do not know the exact question as printed in the 2006-07 Refresher Exam

2) IAABO is a basketball officials association and does not issue rules interpretations per se. IAABO publishes a refresher exam as a study aid for its members. IAABO's answer's to it Refresher Exam is based on NFHS and NCAA rules and interpretations and if a question on its Refresher Exam is identical to a NFHS Casebook Play or Supplimental Rules Interpretation or a NCAA Approved Ruling, the IAABO Answer Key will reflect the NFHS and NCAA rulings.

3) If the IAABO Refresher Exam is the same as the one being discussed in this thread then the answer in the IAABO Answer Key is incorrect.

There is absolutely nothing in the NFHS and NCAA rules that prohibit a team from submitting the name of a player in the scorebook ten minutes before the game even if the player will not arrive at the game site until after the game has started.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why not the same ref shirts? - NCAAW BearBoy Basketball 8 Wed Apr 04, 2007 09:55am
basketball size for ncaaw & ncaam [email protected] Basketball 2 Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:09pm
NCAAW Rule chayce Basketball 2 Sun Nov 27, 2005 05:14pm
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1