The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
There's no such thing as a self pass.

The play is completely legal.
That's true. Passes are to TEAMMATES. When a player throws the ball and retrieves it himself, it is either a legal or an illegal dribble unless it was a try for goal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's true. Passes are to TEAMMATES. When a player throws the ball and retrieves it himself, it is either a legal or an illegal dribble unless it was a try for goal.
That's the point I'm arguing. If it is clear that his intent was only to continue his dribble and the teammate has no possible way of receiving the pass (as it was thrown off his back from 3" away), would there still be no call on the play?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 10:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by utrook31
That's the point I'm arguing. If it is clear that his intent was only to continue his dribble and the teammate has no possible way of receiving the pass (as it was thrown off his back from 3" away), would there still be no call on the play?
Intent has nothing to do with this situation. If the ball touches another player it cannot be an illegal dribble or act. You are over thinking this waaaayyyyy toooooo much.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by utrook31
That's the point I'm arguing. If it is clear that his intent was only to continue his dribble and the teammate has no possible way of receiving the pass (as it was thrown off his back from 3" away), would there still be no call on the play?
As soon as the thrown ball touches the other player the action meets the definition of a pass. What the thrower actually wanted to do has nothing to do with it. When officiating plays, you have to go by the definitions.

4-31 A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Try this, utrook31.

Thrower A1 is standing OOB with the ball on his own endline. B1 has his back to A1. A1 throws the ball off B1's back, steps inbounds, recovers the ball, shoots and scores. legal Play? Of course it is. It makes no difference that he did not intend to inbound the ball to a teammate.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
forward pass/backwards pass cyrick Football 8 Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm
Self Pass IREFU2 Basketball 18 Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:43pm
Pass to yourself Illini_Ref Basketball 16 Tue Feb 22, 2005 02:47pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1