The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
I know that the NBA marches to its own beat when it comes to rules enforcement, but Vince Carter's pass off of the board to himself isn't legal is it? Unless the official rules a "try", you couldn't retrieve this ball could you?

Am I right or wrong here? I know that the opponents board is treated like the floor, but not your own board. In that case, unless it is a "try", then if you throw the ball off of the board, it has to touch the ground before you can get it right? And even then, you could only do that if you had a dribble left.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,095
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
I know that the NBA marches to its own beat when it comes to rules enforcement, but Vince Carter's pass off of the board to himself isn't legal is it? Unless the official rules a "try", you couldn't retrieve this ball could you?

Am I right or wrong here? I know that the opponents board is treated like the floor, but not your own board. In that case, unless it is a "try", then if you throw the ball off of the board, it has to touch the ground before you can get it right? And even then, you could only do that if you had a dribble left.
It is always legal at every level to throw the ball off your own board, recover it, then start a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 168
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
I know that the NBA marches to its own beat when it comes to rules enforcement, but Vince Carter's pass off of the board to himself isn't legal is it? Unless the official rules a "try", you couldn't retrieve this ball could you?

Am I right or wrong here? I know that the opponents board is treated like the floor, but not your own board. In that case, unless it is a "try", then if you throw the ball off of the board, it has to touch the ground before you can get it right? And even then, you could only do that if you had a dribble left.
If someone attempts a legit shot, let's say it's an airball and he or she is quick enough to run it down and grab it before anyone else does, that's legal. Other than in the NBA what Vince Carter did yesterday is not legal. I gotta admit however, IT WAS SWEET!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Thanks Stick, I thought so too, just wanted a second opinion. BTW, I agree, it was a thing of beauty.

Camron, you cannot throw the ball off of your own board to start a dribble, only the opponents. Also, in the situation from the NBA, the player was dribbling when he threw the ball off of the board, so when he threw the ball he ended his dribble.

Now, if you catch a pass, throw the ball off of your own board (not a try), can you recover it. I don't think so, until it hits the ground. Otherwise you would be touching the ball twice before it hits the ground. Pretty sure there is a case in the case book about that. (NFHS)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
[QUOTE]Originally posted by stick
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Other than in the NBA what Vince Carter did yesterday is not legal.
Reference, please. As I read the play (I didn't see it), it was legal at all levels.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
At least in NFHS you can't throw the ball off your own board without it being a try. It's always a try by definition.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker

At least in NFHS you can't throw the ball off your own board without it being a try. It's always a try by definition. [/B]
Reference please. Not doubting, just wanting a reference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
Because it DID NOT hit the floor.

If you have not dribbled or are dribbling you can throw/bat the ball over the defender and let it bounce and continue dribbling. You cannot throw/bat it over and catch it BEFORE it hits the floor, that's an illegal dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Are you talking about the all star game? Nothing is illegal in that game.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
See some case in Rule 2 -- ball location, I think.

See also the specific AR in the NCAA rules that, I'm guessing, is the exact play (A1 throws the ball off of his backboard, jumps, gathers the ball and dunks).

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
Because it DID NOT hit the floor.

If you have not dribbled or are dribbling you can throw/bat the ball over the defender and let it bounce and continue dribbling. You cannot throw/bat it over and catch it BEFORE it hits the floor, that's an illegal dribble.
I know that. The problem is that the ball DID NOT touch the floor in either of the examples I listed above. Running around the defender and catching the ball should be the same as throwing off of your backboard (no try) and catching the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Bob,

if it is legal to throw the ball off of your own board (not a try) and recover it, why is it not legal to throw the ball over the top of a defender, run around him and catch it before it hits the floor? I can't find a rules difference.

In the NBA play the player dribbled downcourt, threw the ball of of his board (obviously not a try) and slammed it through the basket. Since his own board cannot constitute a dribble, how is this legal?
Because it DID NOT hit the floor.

If you have not dribbled or are dribbling you can throw/bat the ball over the defender and let it bounce and continue dribbling. You cannot throw/bat it over and catch it BEFORE it hits the floor, that's an illegal dribble.
I know that. The problem is that the ball DID NOT touch the floor in either of the examples I listed above. Running around the defender and catching the ball should be the same as throwing off of your backboard (no try) and catching the ball.
Your backboard is part of the floor, but it is not considered a dribble when the ball strikes your backboard, any ball that strikes it ends player control just like a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
If the "search" feature worked.....

...we could just link all the previous threads were we've spent a couple of days to prove to doubters that this is legal.

But since we can't, perhaps the doubters can point us to the rule that says you can't throw the ball off your own backboard and retrieve it. I'm dying to read the references.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2005, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
I found it in the book. I agree that it is legal. Thanks for the input guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1