The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 12, 2001, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
If it is not the start of a dribble, is it not a traveling call to throw the ball to yourself?
If you judge it to be the start of a dribble, it's an interrupted dribble because the ball has momentarily gotten away from him. There's no player control.

It wouldn't be traveling unless he caught or touched the ball, prior to the ball hitting the floor. This is one of only two ways you can travel without holding the ball. (Did you get that Mark? )

BTW, I've seen theis play several times and I've never seen the ball thrown. Every time I've ever had it, the ball has been tapped inbounds, and the player has returned to get it. This, again, goes back to looking for something to call. There's nothing there.

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1