The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 24
What about the made shot?

Do you leave the goal scored?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
ready up the case book play grune provided -- but you do not score the basket. "play should be whistled dead." that means the play -- being the scoring of the basket should be DEAD. much like bellbottoms and collared striped shirts. or to really kill generously apply the Old School Stare of Imminent Death (tm) with a sprinkle of chuck norris.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 01:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Technical foul on A1 for not giving a dead ball directly to the official. No 2nd free throw for A1. B gets two shots (maybe four, that depends) and the ball.

Seriously, the official announced two shots, therefore this ball was not live when the shooter caught it. Since the ball was not live, this basket does not count, and go to the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 03:02pm
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
I had this exact situation happen to me my third season. I was the lead, my partner (a 20 year veteran) didn't have a clue what to do. Luckily, me being the know it all kid, knew exactly what to do. I got it right! I won't lie thought, it was mostly luck that day.

CLH
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Technical foul on A1 for not giving a dead ball directly to the official. No 2nd free throw for A1. B gets two shots (maybe four, that depends) and the ball.

Seriously, the official announced two shots, therefore this ball was not live when the shooter caught it. Since the ball was not live, this basket does not count, and go to the arrow.
Seriously, I do not agree with that. (I'm assuming that by "the shooter" you mean the player who rebounded the missed FT and subsequently made a try for goal.)

The ball was live during the FT and remains live after it because no FT is to follow, despite what the official stated, unless an official sounds the whistle. Only a whistle sounding would make this ball dead.

Notice that the casebook play says that the whistle should be sounded immediately. The problem is what if it isn't?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Seriously, I do not agree with that. (I'm assuming that by "the shooter" you mean the player who rebounded the missed FT and subsequently made a try for goal.)

The ball was live during the FT and remains live after it because no FT is to follow, despite what the official stated, unless an official sounds the whistle. Only a whistle sounding would make this ball dead.

Notice that the casebook play says that the whistle should be sounded immediately. The problem is what if it isn't?
Then 1 of 2 things will happen:

1. Coach B ( the other guy) will jump up and protest that the bonehead at L said 2 shots instead of 1&1. Then you confer and agree that coach B did get screwed, wipe off the basket and give the ball to the team with the arrow.
Rule? Two dot three, out favorite. L buys post game food & drinks.

2. No one will complain and the game will continue. At the next opportunity ask the L WTF just happened. L only buys first round.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 05:08pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Seems like this situation has been coming up a lot around here lately. It's good to pre-game this and that you confirm how many shots are being shot. Slow down, no need to rush into an error.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
Seems like this situation has been coming up a lot around here lately. It's good to pre-game this and that you confirm how many shots are being shot. Slow down, no need to rush into an error.
Only because it happened in the 4A boys State Championship game in Idaho!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 05:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Seriously, I do not agree with that. (I'm assuming that by "the shooter" you mean the player who rebounded the missed FT and subsequently made a try for goal.)

The ball was live during the FT and remains live after it because no FT is to follow, despite what the official stated, unless an official sounds the whistle. Only a whistle sounding would make this ball dead.

Notice that the casebook play says that the whistle should be sounded immediately. The problem is what if it isn't?
The administering official stated "two." This means he has granted an unwarranted free throw, even though it won't be shot until after this first shot. This is a correctable error.
Also, since he has granted the following shot (however erroneously), the ball becomes dead as soon as the shot has missed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The administering official stated "two." This means he has granted an unwarranted free throw, even though it won't be shot until after this first shot. This is a correctable error.
Also, since he has granted the following shot (however erroneously), the ball becomes dead as soon as the shot has missed.
I don't agree with that.

Could you please show me in the book where this verbal statement amounts to awarding an unmerited FT?

The truth is that an unmerited FT isn't awarded until it physically takes place.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I don't agree with that.

Could you please show me in the book where this verbal statement amounts to awarding an unmerited FT?

The truth is that an unmerited FT isn't awarded until it physically takes place.

My monkey's lost his internet access and asked me to post this for him

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyRef

Good point.

Two dot three.

Play it as if the whistle had been blown prior to the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tricky call Ump29 Baseball 12 Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:15pm
Tricky b/c situation Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Jan 03, 2006 03:47pm
Tricky 4 In Game Situation JosephG678 Basketball 12 Fri Feb 25, 2005 08:11am
A Tricky Trick Play willmorris Football 4 Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1