The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 24
Tricky Error

Ok... here's the situation: Team B commits a foul. Trail reports the foul to the table and scorer announces 7th team foul it's now 1 & 1. A1 reports to the free throw line. Trail announces "1 & 1". Lead administering the ball announces "2 Shots". Trail does NOT hear Lead announce "2 Shots". Neither does the table. A1 takes his free throw, the ball hits the rim but misses. No player in the lanes move their position as they are waiting for the second attempt to be administered. A1 moves off the foul line and gets his own rebound, shoots and scores two points. No one in the lane has yet to move and the Lead realizing his mistake blows the whistle to stop the clock and announces his mistake. Both officials confer, let the points remain despite the obvious objections from team B and gives the ball to team B. Was this correct? Should the officials have waved off the goal and let the 1 & 1 re-try?. Should they have discounted the goal and just given the ball to team B due to the missed attempt and called it an inadvertent whistle? Go to the possession arrow? I couldn't find a correctable error ruling that seemed to fit.

Billy C
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 11:40am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Officials Provide Erroneous Information - Case Book 8.6.1 Play should be whistled dead and go to the alternate posession arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 24
What about the made shot?

Do you leave the goal scored?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
ready up the case book play grune provided -- but you do not score the basket. "play should be whistled dead." that means the play -- being the scoring of the basket should be DEAD. much like bellbottoms and collared striped shirts. or to really kill generously apply the Old School Stare of Imminent Death (tm) with a sprinkle of chuck norris.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 01:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Technical foul on A1 for not giving a dead ball directly to the official. No 2nd free throw for A1. B gets two shots (maybe four, that depends) and the ball.

Seriously, the official announced two shots, therefore this ball was not live when the shooter caught it. Since the ball was not live, this basket does not count, and go to the arrow.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2007, 03:02pm
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
I had this exact situation happen to me my third season. I was the lead, my partner (a 20 year veteran) didn't have a clue what to do. Luckily, me being the know it all kid, knew exactly what to do. I got it right! I won't lie thought, it was mostly luck that day.

CLH
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2007, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Technical foul on A1 for not giving a dead ball directly to the official. No 2nd free throw for A1. B gets two shots (maybe four, that depends) and the ball.

Seriously, the official announced two shots, therefore this ball was not live when the shooter caught it. Since the ball was not live, this basket does not count, and go to the arrow.
Seriously, I do not agree with that. (I'm assuming that by "the shooter" you mean the player who rebounded the missed FT and subsequently made a try for goal.)

The ball was live during the FT and remains live after it because no FT is to follow, despite what the official stated, unless an official sounds the whistle. Only a whistle sounding would make this ball dead.

Notice that the casebook play says that the whistle should be sounded immediately. The problem is what if it isn't?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tricky call Ump29 Baseball 12 Fri Feb 09, 2007 08:15pm
Tricky b/c situation Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Jan 03, 2006 03:47pm
Tricky 4 In Game Situation JosephG678 Basketball 12 Fri Feb 25, 2005 08:11am
A Tricky Trick Play willmorris Football 4 Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1