![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
JR: By rule, yes. Am I going to by rule? No. Why? Easy, about five to seven years ago (maybe more), the NFHS change way how the game was to be restarted after a correctable error with regard to unawarded free throws. Before this rule change, i.e., if A1 was to receive free throws for a common foul by B1 and instead Team A was awarded a throw-in and the correctable error was discovered during the allowabe time limit, the free three would be awarded as a Point-of-Interuption. That meant if the correctable error was discovered while the ball was live, say, just after Team A had inbounded the ball, A1 would be awarded his free throws and then Team A would get the ball for a throw-in. That also meant if the correctable error was discovered while a player for Team A was in possession of the ball for the throw-in that had been awarded for B1's common foul inplace of the unawarded free throw for B1's foul, Team A should get the ball again for a throw-in after A1 had shot his free throws. BUT, I do not know of any official, including me that would handle a correctable error that was discovered while a player for Team A was in possession of the ball for the throw-in. Once again, the key here is game awareness by the officials. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
That question has been asked and the NCAA has responded that it is not the same and clarified that the original throw-in spot is the proper location from which to continue the game. Therefore, I was trying to tell you that if the inbounds player hasn't yet touched the ball, the throw-in location for the POI returns to the original throw-in spot, which could be back on the end line. Please notice that this is different from the two examples that you just cited. In both of those examples the inbounds player has already touched the ball. I agree with you that the ball location is the proper POI in those cases. I'll do some research and see if I can find the clarification for the case in which the inbounds player has NOT yet touched the ball. It seems that we misunderstood what each other was saying. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
the time displayed as post time is way off | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 2 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm |
First One in a long time | FrankHtown | Basketball | 8 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 02:34pm |
Long time no post... | brandan89 | Basketball | 21 | Wed Sep 29, 2004 05:30pm |
Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |