The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I see nothing which has made the ball become dead. It was placed at the disposal of the FT shooter, at which time it became live.

The FT shooter clearly could have requested a TO while he had the ball, since he has player control, however once he loses it the conditions of 5-8-3 aren't met. Thus no TO request should be granted.
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?
That was my point as well Dan. If we put the ball down at the spot to resume play on a throw in, the ball is at the disposal, the ball is live and the offensive team can call a timeout without somebody actually coming to get the ball. So because the player doesn't have the ball in his hands for the free throw in this sitch, it still at his disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 08:27pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
There's no longer player control, but does that matter to this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2007, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.
Where does it say disposal 'ends' when the ball is somehwhere the player can't get it?

btw, in the resuming play scenario the FTer can't legally get the ball.

How is this play different?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 07:27am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it.
Consider a completley different situation, but one that is covered clearly by the rules and cases.

A1 is awarded 2 FTs. A time-out is then granted. After the time-out, the official is ready to administer the FT, but A1 is not in the semi-circle. The official correctly places the ball on the floor inside the semi-circle. At this point, two things are true:

1) The ball is at the disposal of A1
2) A1 cannot go get the ball without violating.

Seems to me your point is not supported by the rules. JMHO.
__________________________________________________ _________

Edit: Jeez, Dan_ref beat me by about 3 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
From what I have read and heard arguments from, I'm going to have to go with, that this was a legal play by the officials. All because of the word OR in the rule! It's says in possession OR at the disposal, so I'm going to give the time out, but I do agree I would have to try and get a whistle before the timeout is asked for to get the ball back to the shooter and reset the free throw!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Consider a completley different situation, but one that is covered clearly by the rules and cases.

A1 is awarded 2 FTs. A time-out is then granted. After the time-out, the official is ready to administer the FT, but A1 is not in the semi-circle. The official correctly places the ball on the floor inside the semi-circle. At this point, two things are true:

1) The ball is at the disposal of A1
2) A1 cannot go get the ball without violating.

Seems to me your point is not supported by the rules. JMHO.
__________________________________________________ _________

Edit: Jeez, Dan_ref beat me by about 3 minutes.
Since RPP isn't in effect in this case, it doesn't matter. Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation. So we don't need to discuss RPP, which is a specific procedure with its own quirks. For example, when RPP is not in effect one would call an immediate technical foul on a player for not being in the semi circle. RPP changes the rules.
You should ask:
Can a FT who refuses to accept the ball from the administering official later pick it up without violating after the official places it on the floor at the FT line? The answer is yes, and that's a better parallel to what we have here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 12:48pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation.
Of course it's relevant. Here's what you said, quoted from page 1 of this thread:

Quote:
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it.
Dan_ref and I just gave you an example that shows that statement to be absolutely false. Whether the resuming procedure is in effect or not, the player cannot go to get the ball and yet the ball is at his disposal.

Whatever other point you'd like to make, I'm willing to listen; but the play I described for you is exactly on point and shows your original statement to be false.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Since RPP isn't in effect in this case, it doesn't matter. Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation.
Well of course it's relevant, unless you want to retract this statement:

Quote:
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.
In both plays the FTer cannot legally get the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:03pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
This time I beat Dan_ref!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
This time I beat Dan_ref!
Damn. I knew I shouldn't have wasted time underlining that passage!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
This time I beat Dan_ref!
So I've heard......
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
FCOL, just blow it dead and give the ball back to the shooter. If he still wants a TO, he'll ask again.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 15, 2007, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I still don't agree that your RRP example is relevant or that it makes my earlier statement false.

Dan asked me, "By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?"

The logic of my response was that the ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter because he had the ball, but now it is gone. That seems pretty simple.

In your RPP example, the FT shooter was never allowed to have the ball in first place, thus it is impossible to argue that the ball, while still live, will at sometime no longer be at his disposal.

It's just not the same.

Furthermore, neither you nor Dan has responded to my point that the RPP creates special circumstances during a game of basketball during which some of the normal rules are suspended. The example I gave dealt with technical fouls. Therefore, using a RPP situation to argue by analogy is not appropriate. What happens under RPP is quite different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot for throw-in after timeout...incorrect info lookin2improve Basketball 3 Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:27am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Sub after 2nd free throw rookieref2005 Basketball 16 Fri Oct 28, 2005 06:28pm
timeout during a free throw yankeesfan Basketball 2 Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:41pm
Practice free throws during timeout? glowe Basketball 10 Fri Mar 09, 2001 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1