The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout during free throw????? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32753-timeout-during-free-throw.html)

jritchie Wed Mar 14, 2007 02:00pm

Timeout during free throw?????
 
Seen for the first time ever last night.
Player A1 at the line bouncing ball getting ready to attempt free throw, A1 bounces it off of his foot, ball goes rolling back towards the basket, A1 looks at official and calls time out, Time out granted, came back out shot free throw! Is that how this should of worked?

JoeTheRef Wed Mar 14, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Seen for the first time ever last night.
Player A1 at the line bouncing ball getting ready to attempt free throw, A1 bounces it off of his foot, ball goes rolling back towards the basket, A1 looks at official and calls time out, Time out granted, came back out shot free throw! Is that how this should of worked?

As soon as it came off his foot I would've blown my whistle and readminister, and hopefully before he called timeout. However, the ball was at the disposal of the free thow shooter (since he caught it..:D ) and he can call the timeout.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 14, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Seen for the first time ever last night.
Player A1 at the line bouncing ball getting ready to attempt free throw, A1 bounces it off of his foot, ball goes rolling back towards the basket, A1 looks at official and calls time out, Time out granted, came back out shot free throw! Is that how this should of worked?

No, the official should have blown his whistle and re-set the free throw with no violation. Case book play 9.1.1.

Raymond Wed Mar 14, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Seen for the first time ever last night.
Player A1 at the line bouncing ball getting ready to attempt free throw, A1 bounces it off of his foot, ball goes rolling back towards the basket, A1 looks at official and calls time out, Time out granted, came back out shot free throw! Is that how this should of worked?

Yes.......

Mark Padgett Wed Mar 14, 2007 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
However, the ball was at the disposal of the free thow shooter (since he caught it..:D ) and he can call the timeout.

OK - let's take a poll. How many of you agree that the player can call a timeout here? :confused:

Nevadaref Wed Mar 14, 2007 07:45pm

The Casebook play that JR cited should have been followed. The ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter at this time, therefore he is not permitted to request and be granted a time-out. The official did not handle it correctly.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 14, 2007 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
OK - let's take a poll. How many of you agree that the player can call a timeout here? :confused:

I'll say "no".

Don't want to risk the <b>Wrath of Padgett</b>.:D

JoeTheRef Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The Casebook play that JR cited should have been followed. The ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter at this time, therefore he is not permitted to request and be granted a time-out. The official did not handle it correctly.

So is the ball live or dead?

Nevadaref Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:09pm

I see nothing which has made the ball become dead. It was placed at the disposal of the FT shooter, at which time it became live.

The FT shooter clearly could have requested a TO while he had the ball, since he has player control, however once he loses it the conditions of 5-8-3 aren't met. Thus no TO request should be granted.

Dan_ref Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I see nothing which has made the ball become dead. It was placed at the disposal of the FT shooter, at which time it became live.

The FT shooter clearly could have requested a TO while he had the ball, since he has player control, however once he loses it the conditions of 5-8-3 aren't met. Thus no TO request should be granted.

Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?

JoeTheRef Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?

That was my point as well Dan. If we put the ball down at the spot to resume play on a throw in, the ball is at the disposal, the ball is live and the offensive team can call a timeout without somebody actually coming to get the ball. So because the player doesn't have the ball in his hands for the free throw in this sitch, it still at his disposal.

Scrapper1 Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:27pm

There's no longer player control, but does that matter to this situation?

Nevadaref Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?

The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.

Back In The Saddle Wed Mar 14, 2007 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Well let's see...the ball was at the disposal of the FT shooter by 8-1. And 5-8-3a says we can grant a TO request when the ball is at the disposal of a player. By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:
ART. 3 . . . Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when:

a. The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.
b. The ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified, or injured player(s), or a player directed to leave the game is pending, and a substitute(s) is available and required.

Well, the way the rule is worded, it certainly appears that as long as the ball is at the thrower's disposal, he should still be granted the timeout.

One question that I don't think is answered anywhere is when does a ball cease being at a player's disposal? I think the logical answer is that it ceases being at a player's disposal after it has left the player's control.

Thoughts?

Dan_ref Thu Mar 15, 2007 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.

Where does it say disposal 'ends' when the ball is somehwhere the player can't get it?

btw, in the resuming play scenario the FTer can't legally get the ball.

How is this play different?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1