![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
The Casebook play that JR cited should have been followed. The ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter at this time, therefore he is not permitted to request and be granted a time-out. The official did not handle it correctly.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I see nothing which has made the ball become dead. It was placed at the disposal of the FT shooter, at which time it became live.
The FT shooter clearly could have requested a TO while he had the ball, since he has player control, however once he loses it the conditions of 5-8-3 aren't met. Thus no TO request should be granted. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
btw, in the resuming play scenario the FTer can't legally get the ball. How is this play different?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 is awarded 2 FTs. A time-out is then granted. After the time-out, the official is ready to administer the FT, but A1 is not in the semi-circle. The official correctly places the ball on the floor inside the semi-circle. At this point, two things are true: 1) The ball is at the disposal of A1 2) A1 cannot go get the ball without violating. Seems to me your point is not supported by the rules. JMHO. __________________________________________________ _________ Edit: Jeez, Dan_ref beat me by about 3 minutes.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
ART. 3 . . . Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: a. The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team. b. The ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified, or injured player(s), or a player directed to leave the game is pending, and a substitute(s) is available and required. Well, the way the rule is worded, it certainly appears that as long as the ball is at the thrower's disposal, he should still be granted the timeout. One question that I don't think is answered anywhere is when does a ball cease being at a player's disposal? I think the logical answer is that it ceases being at a player's disposal after it has left the player's control. Thoughts?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Spot for throw-in after timeout...incorrect info | lookin2improve | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:27am |
| 3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
| Sub after 2nd free throw | rookieref2005 | Basketball | 16 | Fri Oct 28, 2005 06:28pm |
| timeout during a free throw | yankeesfan | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:41pm |
| Practice free throws during timeout? | glowe | Basketball | 10 | Fri Mar 09, 2001 03:42pm |