The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 04:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by shave-tail
If you have not dribbled yet you can "pass" however it would be concidered a start of a dribble. When you catch up with the dribble you can continue the dribble or catch it then your options are pass or shoot.b
It's true...It's true...

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive rebound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 06:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
So let me make sure I have this correct. If A1 has ended his dribble and he goes to make a pass to A2, but in the meantime A2 runs away, and A1 goes and recovers the pass this is a violation. Illegal dribble or a travel?

Scenerio 2: A1 still has his dribble and he makes an errant pass and he goes to secure it. May he continue to dribble or can he only recover it? Thanks guys I have learned a lot in a year.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobref1
So let me make sure I have this correct. If A1 has ended his dribble and he goes to make a pass to A2, but in the meantime A2 runs away, and A1 goes and recovers the pass this is a violation. Illegal dribble or a travel?
Illegal (double) dribble.

Quote:
Scenerio 2: A1 still has his dribble and he makes an errant pass and he goes to secure it. May he continue to dribble or can he only recover it? Thanks guys I have learned a lot in a year.
Try it this way: A1 still has his dribble, and bats / forces / pushes (whatever the wording is) the ball to the ground. May he continue to dribble or can he only recover it? The answers is obvious (I hope) and the play is the same as your scenario 2, so the answer to secnario 2 is also obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobref1
If A1 has ended his dribble and he goes to make a pass to A2, but in the meantime A2 runs away, and A1 goes and recovers the pass this is a violation. Illegal dribble or a travel?
Illegal dribble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobref1
Scenerio 2: A1 still has his dribble and he makes an errant pass and he goes to secure it. May he continue to dribble or can he only recover it?
Either one initially, but not recovery followed by a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjenning
Illegal dribble.

Either one initially, but not recovery followed by a dribble.
If the player passes the ball, using two hands to make the pass (as is the usual case), she'd not be allowed to follow with a dribble, right? The dribble ended when she put her second hand on the ball to start the pass.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffW
If the player passes the ball, using two hands to make the pass (as is the usual case), she'd not be allowed to follow with a dribble, right? The dribble ended when she put her second hand on the ball to start the pass.
I don't understand the question.

The pass (to "no one" and that hits the floor) is considered the start of the dribble when A1 recovers it.

Your question is like asking, "If A1 starts a dribble by pushing the ball to the floor with two hands, can A1 continue the dribble?" The answer, of course, is yes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffW and modified by Nevadaref
If a player who is dribbling the ball, then passes the ball, using two hands to make the pass (as is the usual case), she'd not be allowed to follow with a dribble, right? The dribble ended when she put her second hand on the ball to start the pass.
If this is what you mean, then you have the correct understanding. If you meant what Bob Jenkins wrote, then you aren't correct.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Mar 07, 2007 at 07:40pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coming Back Tomorrow Mountaineer Softball 2 Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:18am
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
Coming back to haunt ya' - part II Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Sat Mar 15, 2003 09:46pm
Coming back to haunt ya' Mark Padgett Basketball 16 Thu Mar 13, 2003 05:13pm
Coming back inbounds after a save. bossref Basketball 29 Mon Dec 10, 2001 02:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1