The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Backcourt

A1 is bringing the ball up in A's backcourt. A1 passes to A2. B1 tips the pass (A1's backcourt/B1's frontcourt). B2 gets control over the ball in A's frontcourt/B's backcourt. Is this backcourt on B?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,985
no.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 12:33pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
No.

B1's tipping of the ball is not considered Team B possession. Therefore, when B2 recovers in her backcourt, there is no over-and-back violation. B2's recovery is the act that removes A's team possession and assigns team control to Team B.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
No.

B1's tipping of the ball is not considered Team B possession. Therefore, when B2 recovers in her backcourt, there is no over-and-back violation. B2's recovery is the act that removes A's team possession and assigns team control to Team B.
Just to add to your post - even if B had caught (possessed) the ball while in the air after leaving from his front court and landed in his backcourt, it would not have been backcourt.
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
The Mulkster! Where ya been, man?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 01:46am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
Just to add to your post - even if B had caught (possessed) the ball while in the air after leaving from his front court and landed in his backcourt, it would not have been backcourt.
Yes, this is the act that is covered by the exception to the backcourt rule.

And if B1 catches the ball in the air and passes to B2, who is in his BC, it is a violation.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt oc Basketball 83 Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:23pm
BACKCOURT OR NOT? OFISHE8 Basketball 8 Sun Dec 18, 2005 06:36pm
Was this backcourt?? dsimp8 Basketball 10 Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:20pm
Backcourt Laker D Basketball 14 Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am
Backcourt?? Rock'nRef Basketball 6 Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1