The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 4-23-1--"Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent." LGP doesn't affect that premise. If they now get run over by an opponent after attaining their legal spot, you can't call a foul on the player being run over. The options are either a no-call or a foul on the player doing the charging, depending on whether the contact was illegal or incidental.

The good thing is that after it happened last night, I did call it correctly based on your interpertation. I just needed someone to to put it into perspective and help me differentiate between LGP and legal spot.

Thanks!
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1