![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I think I know what you mean, you're correct in that the foul wouldn't kill the act of shooting but if A1 is on the floor we couldn't have the second foul, a charge against A1 after the shot if B2 had LGP.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? Last edited by RushmoreRef; Thu Feb 15, 2007 at 04:41pm. |
|
||||
I don't think it matters. The only thing that might matter is whether B2 gained LGP before A1 last left his feet prior to contact between those two.
If the act of shooting has begun, the shooter can become airborne even after the foul, and then he is protected until he lands. So, you could have the following order of events: 1. Shooting motion begins by A1. 2. B1 fouls A1 from behind. 3. A1 jumps off his last foot for the layup he began before the foul. 4. A1 crashes into B2, creating a block/charge situation that could be called based on whether B2 gained position prior to A1's takeoff.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm getting ready leave for a game with two other guys...we'll discuss and case book/rule book it on the way....I'll come back on tomorrow with what we got....Good point....thanks
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In 6.7SitC, the foul occurred on the shooter(or a teammate) before the foul was in flight. The ball remains live until the shot is made or missed or.....casebook play 4.19.9SitA happens. In 4.19.9SitA, you have a foul on the shooter, then the shooter charging after that foul. Ruling is a false double foul. The foul on the shooter does not cause the ball to become dead. The foul by the shooter is a PC foul that does cause the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. The shooter gets 2 FT's with no one on the lanes. After the last FT, team B gets the ball OOB at the closest spot to the PC foul on the shooter for a designated spot throw-in. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Feb 15, 2007 at 09:29pm. |
|
|||
Another thing you could have told the coach which is supported by rule is to ignore the 2nd foul unless intentional. The play is dead on the first whistle shooting foul. The 2nd foul occurred after the whistle and is deem a dead ball foul which is ignored unless intentional or flagrant. I would always try to keep things simple. Just makes your job a lot easier as an official.
|
|
||||
Quote:
You try telling the coach your nonsense above, and he's going to rightly wonder why you counted the basket. The only way not to call the PC on A1 is if you determine B1's foul illegally directed A1 into B2.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
I envisioned the whistle after both bumps. Bump~bump, .......Tweet! You must've heard Bump. Tweet! Bump. My whistle is too slow for that. |
|
|||
Quote:
2) Wrong, by rule.Rule 6-7-7EXCEPTION(c) and Case book play 6.7SitC. 3) Wrong, by rule. The rule that you are trying to cite(wrongfully)- rule 4-19-1NOTE does NOT apply to a foul by or on an airborne shooter. Also see case play 4-19-9SitA. 4) Yup, keep things simple and completely wrong.You don't have a clue when it comes to the actual rules, Old School. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul Situation? | jim1976 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 02:26pm |
technical foul situation????? | robinson31ir | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:03pm |
Foul situation...game | jcurtin | Basketball | 8 | Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17am |
Interesting Foul Situation | Cornellref | Basketball | 11 | Wed Mar 26, 2003 12:09am |
strange "double" foul situation | Brian Watson | Basketball | 35 | Thu Jan 04, 2001 02:05am |