![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
For those that are interested, this play occured in the Kentucky @ Tennessee game a couple of days ago.
Yes, it should have been BI. There is absolutely no question about that. The ball was even more in the cylinder than the OP indicated....probably 90% in/10% out. In fact, a substantial part of the ball was even below the plane of the rim. However, they didn't call it at the time. Since it was thrown from well outside the 3-point line with an overhead two-handed pass, there was no question about where it was thrown from. The only thing they were looking at was to see if it was touched by the teammate at the rim or not. By ruling it a 2, they basically admitted that it was BI (and they missed it since they can't rule BI from the video) since the ball location was not only in the cylinder at that point in time but was even partially within the basket. The missed the call. This crew had a rough night of it...missing a few other obvious calls. In addition to this one, they missed a clear backcourt violation (player with a foot mostly in the backcourt received a pass from a frontcourt teammate and stood there for 1-2 seconds), a big travel (player jumped and started dribble while in the air). They didn't change the outcome of the game (Kentucky did that to themselves by leaveing the paint open for several backdoor dunks and allowing several uncontested 3's).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 15, 2007 at 02:35pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
How can they be admitting that it was BI by ruling it a 2? If the player legally touched the ball outside the cylinder, it would be ruled a 2 also. |
|
|||
Quote:
All they could do was look to see if it's a 2 or 3. That is by rule. Has nothing to do with anybody admitting to anything.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
The player who touched the ball was on the right side of the rim, the ball came from the left and no more than a very small slice of the ball ball passed the right edge of the rim....it pretty much went straight in the basket and would have gone it even if the player hadn't touched the ball. The player was reaching over the rim to tap it in. For it to have not been BI, the player would have only been able to touch the ball at a point more than 1 ball diameter to the right of the rim.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basket Interference??? | FrankHtown | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm |
Basket Interference or not?? | ref18 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm |
Basket Interference | cford | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 02:35pm |
Basket Interference | mplagrow | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:33am |
basket interference? | chrisall | Basketball | 20 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 08:58am |