The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
she cannot continue even if it was a loose ball unless the defense caused it -- she ended her dribble -- she can fumble and recover but cannot restart another dribble.

fumble - dribble - fumble = legal
dribble - fumble - dribble = illegal
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 851
A1's action is not a fumble! As stated A1 passes the ball. A1 ended the dribble then tossed an errant pass. Then went and retrieved the pass (after it hit the official). Violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
she cannot continue even if it was a loose ball unless the defense caused it -- she ended her dribble -- she can fumble and recover but cannot restart another dribble.

fumble - dribble - fumble = legal
dribble - fumble - dribble = illegal
True, but this wasn't a fumble.

There's a specific case play (that's Nevada's cue) where A1 ends the dribble, passes toward A2 who moves away, and A1 runs ands recovers the ball. Violation. That's the same thing that happened in the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 03:56pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
True, but this wasn't a fumble.

There's a specific case play (that's Nevada's cue) where A1 ends the dribble, passes toward A2 who moves away, and A1 runs ands recovers the ball. Violation. That's the same thing that happened in the OP.
I'll provide the reference.

9.5
Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official and catches the rebound.

Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (5-15-2; Fundamental 19)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2007, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
what if the dribbler has not stopped?
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
what if the dribbler has not stopped?
Then throwing the ball against the official or the opponents backboard is a continuation of the dribble (assuming the ball never came to rest in the dribbler's hand -- unlikely)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
I'll provide the reference.

9.5
Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official and catches the rebound.

Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (5-15-2; Fundamental 19)
How come the above doesn't apply below?;

TOMEGUN: From our JUCO quiz:

A1 ends his dribble and cannot find anyone to whom to pass the ball, so to avert having a five-second closely guarded violation called, A1 intentionally throws the ball against B1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. The coach inquires about the call and the official informs the coach that voluntarily throwing the ball against another player is illegal. Is the official correct?

Sounds like the same play? With the obvious exception of the ball hitting the referee rather than a player.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Damn Scapper,

Where'd you find my yearbook?????
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 11:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColeTops25
How come the above doesn't apply below?;

TOMEGUN: From our JUCO quiz:

A1 ends his dribble and cannot find anyone to whom to pass the ball, so to avert having a five-second closely guarded violation called, A1 intentionally throws the ball against B1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. The coach inquires about the call and the official informs the coach that voluntarily throwing the ball against another player is illegal. Is the official correct?

Sounds like the same play? With the obvious exception of the ball hitting the referee rather than a player.
Nope, apples and oranges. Throwing the ball against another player constitutes a loss of player control as per NFHS rule 9-5-3 and case book play 9.5.3. An official is treated the same as being a part of the floor. So......throwing the ball against an official is the same as throwing the ball at the floor--i.e. it's another dribble. See NFHS case book play 9.5. NCAA rules are the same.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Feb 15, 2007 at 12:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColeTops25
How come the above doesn't apply below?;

Sounds like the same play? With the obvious exception of the ball hitting the referee rather than a player.
There is a very large distintion between the referee and a player. The referee is to be considered part of the floor, thus throwing it off of him is no different than a dribble. Another player is just that another player. There are some citations that have been mentioned above that clarify that once you stop a dribble you can't dribble again unless.........one of the unlesses, is that it is touched by another player.

or if you like, what JR said above....his typing skills are evindently somewhat better than mine, or at least quicker LOL
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks for the response guys.

My thinking, which by rule is wrong, was that there seemed to be no difference. The intent can be absolutely the same, but the outcome obviosly different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits bat Rachel Softball 3 Wed Apr 26, 2006 08:28am
Batted ball hits BR Dakota Softball 9 Fri Sep 26, 2003 09:52am
ball hits top of bb in or out StevenW Basketball 4 Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:40am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm
Bat hits ball vs. Ball hits bat abergman Baseball 6 Mon Jul 16, 2001 07:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1