The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball hits the ref (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31842-ball-hits-ref.html)

Vinski Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:05pm

Ball hits the ref
 
JH girl’s game. A1 picks up her dribble about 6ft from me and then for some reason or another, she quickly turns and decides to do a quick bounce pass to me. I try to avert my body to get out of the way but the ball hits me anyway. The ball then bounces around a little bit and A1 then runs up and grabs the ball. Recalling that I am actually considered apart of the court as far as dribbling is concerned, I blow the whistle. I call double dribble on her. My only other thought would be that this may have been a loose ball situation and that she could have just retrieved the loose ball and would have been able to continue on. Don't have the rule book handy at the moment. What does the board have to say?

deecee Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:09pm

she cannot continue even if it was a loose ball unless the defense caused it -- she ended her dribble -- she can fumble and recover but cannot restart another dribble.

fumble - dribble - fumble = legal
dribble - fumble - dribble = illegal

Zoochy Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:20pm

A1's action is not a fumble! As stated A1 passes the ball. A1 ended the dribble then tossed an errant pass. Then went and retrieved the pass (after it hit the official). Violation.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
she cannot continue even if it was a loose ball unless the defense caused it -- she ended her dribble -- she can fumble and recover but cannot restart another dribble.

fumble - dribble - fumble = legal
dribble - fumble - dribble = illegal

True, but this wasn't a fumble.

There's a specific case play (that's Nevada's cue) where A1 ends the dribble, passes toward A2 who moves away, and A1 runs ands recovers the ball. Violation. That's the same thing that happened in the OP.

chartrusepengui Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:42pm

yeah - it's a violation. Regardless of what players may think at the time - a ref is just one big bump on the floor like the wad of gum laying there. :-)

deecee Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:45pm

nice -- i always wanted to be compared to a wad of gum -- even though some guys here might have that opinion of me -- nice -- what flavor BTW?

stmaryrams Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
yeah - it's a violation. Regardless of what players may think at the time - a ref is just one big bump on the floor like the wad of gum laying there. :-)

Some of us bigger than others.

Vinski Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
yeah - it's a violation. Regardless of what players may think at the time - a ref is just one big bump on the floor like the wad of gum laying there. :-)

I've been called worse :)

tjones1 Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
True, but this wasn't a fumble.

There's a specific case play (that's Nevada's cue) where A1 ends the dribble, passes toward A2 who moves away, and A1 runs ands recovers the ball. Violation. That's the same thing that happened in the OP.

I'll provide the reference.

9.5
Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official and catches the rebound.

Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (5-15-2; Fundamental 19)

chartrusepengui Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:00pm

what if the dribbler has not stopped?

bob jenkins Thu Feb 15, 2007 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
what if the dribbler has not stopped?

Then throwing the ball against the official or the opponents backboard is a continuation of the dribble (assuming the ball never came to rest in the dribbler's hand -- unlikely)

Ignats75 Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by stmaryrams
Some of us bigger than others.

Those of us that are fat, drunk and stupid resemble that remark.

Time2Ref Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
nice -- i always wanted to be compared to a wad of gum -- even though some guys here might have that opinion of me -- nice -- what flavor BTW?



http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s...stripe_gum.jpg

Didn't see any pictures of the black&white striped gum....:)

Scrapper1 Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
Those of us that are fat, drunk and stupid resemble that remark.

Enjoy! :)

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...imal_House.jpg

ColeTops25 Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
I'll provide the reference.

9.5
Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official and catches the rebound.

Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (5-15-2; Fundamental 19)

How come the above doesn't apply below?;

TOMEGUN: From our JUCO quiz:

A1 ends his dribble and cannot find anyone to whom to pass the ball, so to avert having a five-second closely guarded violation called, A1 intentionally throws the ball against B1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. The coach inquires about the call and the official informs the coach that voluntarily throwing the ball against another player is illegal. Is the official correct?

Sounds like the same play? With the obvious exception of the ball hitting the referee rather than a player.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1