The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 132
Once the ball has frontcourt status, if A is the last to touch it in the frontcourt and the first to touch it in the backcourt, over and back. Nothing about control.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
BIG2CAT--there must still be TEAM control in order to have a violation. Take this situation:

A1 attempts a shot and misses. During the rebound, A2 tips the ball back and the ball goes into the back court where it is retreived by A3. This would not be a violation, as team control ended when the shot was released by A1, and no team control was established simply on the tip by A2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 132
I thought that since I was posting right after his situation that people would understand that is what I was talking about and answering his question. I should have clarified I was talking about his situation.

Your situation is correct.

(I should have just added this--assuming there was team control)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It was the statement, "Nothing about control" that triggered the response. It is all about control. Since a defensive tip does not end team control, then it's a violation for A to be the last to touch on the 2nd play mentioned and then be the first to touch after the ball went to the backcourt.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2007, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 132
Right...but his question was did Team A have to control it in the backcourt to have the violation, or just touch it. Control is not the issue there...touching is. I will be careful to be more clear in the future and realize that the statement "Nothing about control" is too vague. Again, I was talking about his situation where he asked if Team A had to control it or touch it. So, in that part of the situation it is not "All about control", it is about touching.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
over and back?? zac Basketball 2 Tue Jan 24, 2006 07:29pm
over & back jimm Basketball 13 Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:57pm
Over and Back myredst1100 Basketball 12 Fri Dec 19, 2003 07:40pm
look back MartyG Softball 10 Mon Nov 25, 2002 10:48am
Over and Back Larks Basketball 24 Sun Oct 27, 2002 06:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1