The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 02:11am
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Your more experienced partner was totally WRONG.

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)


*This became 4.14.1 SITUATION C in the current Case Book as Z referenced above.

Oh, rest assured I let him know that I was right on this one, and that he made me look incompetent.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 08:02am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Let me expand on this situation with a hypothetical.

Player A1 fouls. B1 to shoot two. A1 then gets a T for arguing. A Coach gets a T for arguing and then says something else he shouldn't, gets a T and is tossed. Do we shoot all those foul shots (8) with the lane clear and then give B the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 08:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Let me expand on this situation with a hypothetical.

Player A1 fouls. B1 to shoot two. A1 then gets a T for arguing. A Coach gets a T for arguing and then says something else he shouldn't, gets a T and is tossed. Do we shoot all those foul shots (8) with the lane clear and then give B the ball?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 08:16am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Thanks JR. Some of these are tough to explain at Rec level!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 08:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Thanks JR. Some of these are tough to explain at Rec level!
Just explain to whoever asks that if the ball isn't going to remain in play after the last free throw in any sequence is shot, no matter how many FT's are being shot, then you never let the players line up along the lanes. That's fairly easy to understand.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2007, 08:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Thanks JR. Some of these are tough to explain at Rec level!
You explained it. I just agreed with you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT procedure DJ Football 6 Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:37pm
what is the procedure? xxssmen Basketball 14 Thu Feb 26, 2004 08:06pm
what is the procedure xxssmen Basketball 2 Tue Feb 24, 2004 08:55am
Proper Procedure... cmckenna Baseball 1 Mon Apr 22, 2002 09:50am
Proper Procedure bard Basketball 5 Mon Jan 14, 2002 09:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1