View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 10, 2007, 01:19pm
AFHusker AFHusker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This is a minor point, but strictly speaking there were not two personal fouls. There was one personal foul and one technical foul which were both charged to this player. It is true that both fouls count towards that individual player's total of five fouls for disqualification and add to the team total.

Sometimes it is easier to put it into terms that the scorer understands even though it is not proper referee terminology.
While it is easier to put into terms the scorer understands, the scorer should understand there is a difference. You can get up to 5 personal fouls in a game before being DQ'd, but it only takes 2 T's to get DQ'd. In this case the player was DQ'd anyway, but if the personal and T were there player's first 2 fouls and the player gets a second T later, the officials could forget that one was given to the player earlier.
Reply With Quote