The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 04, 2007, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member

Need Honest Opinions

I was a referee for four years while I was in college. My last year, I had a good high school varsity schedule, and actually got to work a playoff game. I graduated college last summer, and took a coaching job. I miss officiating, but I love coaching. My contract is up for renewal in March, and I'm thinking about getting out of coaching and go back to refereeing. Can someone give me some pro's and cons of this decision?
Old Sun Feb 04, 2007, 12:49pm
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
I coach and ref and have for many yrs (just local rec, but my kids are getting too old). I have been officiating at Rec for a few yrs, and have recently started JV and MS games. I truly like reffing better.

As a player and coach I didn't really "know" the rules, I just thought I did.

But, they both have their pros and cons and this is an individual decison. I like going to HS games and seeing a nice young man I coached for many yrs playing at that level, understanding the game, demonstrating sportsmanship, and being a good citizen, etc. You can mold them better as a coach/adult figure, etc.

Reffing is obviously more frustrating at times, getting "talked to" by coaches, players, fans, parents, everyone who knows better........etc., but, you can also help teach the game here too - especially to other Rec officials that don't have that little bit of experience I am now gaining.

I have days when I would rather go back to just coaching. But, I had three good Rec games yesterday and know I will continue to ref long after I stop coaching my kids in a few yrs.
Old Sun Feb 04, 2007, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer