|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Nevada is among those. 
				__________________ 9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Interesting theorem..... | 
| 
 | |||
|  The usual sarcasm.. 
			
			Never said that JR  ... Obviously the player in your scenerio is in control of the ball. The player in Nevadaref's play I can not picture being in control. 10feet up 100 feet up, he ain't got the ball, I ain't counting!   The play is near impossile and not planned for in the rules. Good judgement must be applied. In mine I am starting a new count if defense is stupid enough to just stand there and offense is unbelieveably glued to the floor... It won't happen!!! 
				__________________ IamKIP Last edited by IamKip; Sun Jan 28, 2007 at 06:12pm. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
  He hasn't got the ball when he's tossing it from hand to hand, which is exactly the same as when he's tossing it up in the air. The only difference that I can see is that the ball is being tossed horizontally in one case and vertically in another. So.....it appears that you want to penalize "vertical" while letting horizontal get of scot free. Well, imo that just not fair!   Or are you saying that we should call it by the tossing distance instead? Is tossing it 2 feet sideways from hand-to- hand different than tossing it 10 feet up in the air from hand-to-hand? At what distance then do we stop the count? two feet? Four feet? Sihgh.....so many questions, so few answers. | 
| 
 | |||
|  Too predictable Quote: 
 [/QUOTE]He hasn't got the ball when he's tossing it from hand to hand, which is exactly the same as when he's tossing it up in the air. The only difference that I can see is that the ball is being tossed horizontally in one case and vertically in another. So.....it appears that you want to penalize "vertical" while letting horizontal get of scot free. Well, imo that just not fair!  [/QUOTE] A foot toss in the air is the same, ten feet is not the same. It is all just judgement   [/QUOTE]Or are you saying that we should call it by the tossing distance instead? Is tossing it 2 feet sideways from hand-to- hand different than tossing it 10 feet up in the air from hand-to-hand? At what distance then do we stop the count? two feet? Four feet?[/QUOTE] I don't know would have to see it is all judgement.. [/QUOTE]Sihgh.....so many questions, so few answers.[/QUOTE] Still the same after so many years. Stupid sarcasm that solves nothing.  I have a answer for any quesiton you have and based on your posts the questions will be too ridiculously literal and I truly hope this is just you playing a game and not the way you ref!!!   
				__________________ IamKIP | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 2. JR and I are merely applying the NFHS definition of player control given in 4-12-1. "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds." 3. On your play above, I would NOT call a traveling violation. I would call an illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit E, which I referenced already in this thread. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 1) Rule 4-12-1 says that a player is in control only when he's holding or dribbling the ball. Soooooo....if you saying that the player is in control when the ball is in mid-air between his two hands, which act is that player doing? Is he holding the ball while it is in mid-air between the two hands? Or is he dribbling the ball while it's in the air between his two hands. By rule, those are the only two choices. Soooooooo.......which one is your pick?   2) You never answered the question. What is your judgement as to what distance is required to stop the count? Two feet? Four feet? Five feet and eleventeen inches? Is there any difference by rule also as to whether the distance can be vertical or horizontal? How can we possibly know when to stop the count if we don't know exactly what distance and direction is needed to stop the count?  Inquiring minds need to know! (PS-rules citations to back up your answers would be helpful too. Please.) Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 28, 2007 at 07:41pm. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 So what do you say about this plays, JR? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Please support your opinion. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Yes, he is holding it!
			 Quote: 
 At what height would it be the same I would have to see it, but a 10 ft toss in the air that would never happen while not moving pivot ft and defender not getting, while a 5 sec closly guarded count is on, so it is not a player in control! This is judgement that is needed to advance   
				__________________ IamKIP | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Of course, please note that I still reserve all rights to piss other people off in this thread by asking similar dumb questions.   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ 9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| count the run? | jggilliam | Softball | 7 | Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:00pm | 
| count run or not | dokeeffe | Baseball | 13 | Wed Jan 11, 2006 05:50pm | 
| "L" 5 sec. count | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am | 
| run count or not? | chasbo | Softball | 10 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:55am | 
| Would you count the run? | greymule | Softball | 22 | Sat Jan 10, 2004 09:53am |