The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
What the heck do you call????

You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus. OOB throw end on sideline in A’s backcourt after time out. A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.
Yes, all of this happened within the last 5 seconds of the game. Both coaches, all players and all fans are screaming excitedly.
What do you call?
You have just a few seconds to get your crew together and decide. No rule books on the floor.
I'll post the crews correct decision next Monday!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 84
Ill take a stab,

Basket counts towords B score, then go and A is shooting for the bounus 1 and 1 or 2 depending on if they were in bounus or double bonus.


That is my guess, but i will look it up when i get home.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
It's definitely no basket.

2 things preventing the basket from counting.
  • The foul
  • The horn

This is basic rules knowlege. This was not a shot attempt so the horn and/or foul make the ball dead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Doh! I forgot about the foul making the ball dead. So, while you might be able to put time back on, you cannot count this basket. Doh!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mizzouah!
Posts: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Doh! I forgot about the foul making the ball dead. So, while you might be able to put time back on, you cannot count this basket. Doh!
You can only put time on if you know how much has elaspe
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by budjones05
You can only put time on if you know how much has elaspe
Which is what I said on my first post.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's easy. No need to wait until Monday. Since the last shot was not a legitimate shot attempt (at the wrong basket), the ball becomes dead at the horn. B does not get the points for the shot.
A2 gets bonus free throws at the other end.

This year, if one of the officials sees time on the clock at the whistle, then you can count the basket and put that time back on. A2 still gets bonus free throws at the other end.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1
Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus.
A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.

No basket because it's not a "try". A2 shoots either 1/1 or 2 shots, depending on what bonus they are in(we aren't told). If A2 makes 1 FT, the game goes to OT. If A2 makes 2 FT's, the game is over. Case book play 4.41.2.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jan 12, 2007 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
I agree with Snaq & Jurassic.

No basket for Team B - A's shot was not a legitimate shot attempt.
Ball is dead immediately after the foul.
Team A will shoot 1/1 or 2 depending on the foul count.
Clock may be reset if officials had definite knowledge of the exact time when the foul was called.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:26pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.
According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.
A2 does not need to dribble again...

9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official and catches the rebound.
Ruling: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-15-2; Fundamental 19)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
According to the post, she dribble, shot, and got her own rebound, then shot again. It didn't say she dribble again and shot. Not a double dribble but maybe traveling with the ball, because you can't pass the ball to yourself. Traveling violation stops the clock, no foul ever occurred. Team B ball underneath. Owe, unless foul is flagrant or intentional, fouls after the ball is dead is ignored.
OS, read your rulebook, Violation - Dribble rule 9.5 Situation

It counts as a dribble if you bounce the ball off the board. Dribble one on the floor, dribble two on the backboard. I don't know how in the world you get a traveling.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:51pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.
Aaaaargh!

Good catch.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
From the OP, it sounds possible that even if the ref did call the double dribble as soon as he saw it, all the rest of the action could have happened, it may not have been too late.

Also, the OP doesn't say whether the ball did or didn't go into B's basket before the horn. It says the foul was after the shot before the horn. Because of the double dribble, it doesn't matter. But suppose the double dribble hadn't happend, such as if A3 had grabbed the "rebound" and shot and been fouled by B. Then if the ball went in before the horn, it would count, even though the foul wouldn't be on the shot. How's that for confusing?

Okay, now I'm going to go pay my bills, wash my dishes and do my game.

have a nice weekend.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Annoyed the heck out of me Dakota Softball 11 Mon Sep 22, 2003 03:21pm
Hey, Mark, where the heck are you? rainmaker Basketball 5 Mon Sep 30, 2002 08:05am
What the heck. . .he just spit at me! jumpmaster Baseball 8 Tue Jul 23, 2002 11:17am
Very minor point, but what the heck - it's summer Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Wed Aug 02, 2000 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1