![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
But, I've never had a coach request a certain spot to begin a non-designated spot throw-in so I've never had to think about it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, consider yourself challenged ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
And as I stated previously, I've never had a coach ask me to start the throw-in from a specific spot, they always just want to confirm that their player can run the base-line.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 24, 2007 at 11:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you have a rule to show I'm wrong I would be glad to see it.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
As an official, I always appreciate the crowds stupidity. It reminds me why I am on the court, and they are sitting in the bleachers. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I get soooooo confused sometimes. ![]() |
|
|||
I have a hard time with the whole fulfilling the coach's request thing. If a time out is called, I try to indicate to my partner(s), where the ball will be put in play right away. This isn't the reason I do it, but it sure works for this situation too. Since I've already indicated where the throw-in will be, there's no reason for the discussion.
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Partners will generally adjust to administrating official after a time-out, I think. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=BadNewsRef] I've never had a coach ask me to start the throw-in from a specific spot[/ QUOTE]
BNR...you keep saying that you have never had a coach ask you what we are discussing. In 18 years of officiating, either have I. But, what difference does that really make...it happened to an official, I was asked, and IMO...the sitch can be used as a learning tool. We, as officials, should strive to be consistent with our calls (or non-calls)...as seen here, we have different ideas as to what we would do in this situation. FWIW...I told the official that I would have no problem with putting the ball in play on either side of the basket...as long as our crew had not already "set up" for the throw-in. IOW...if I was ready to administer the TI, I would not "switch" to the other side at the coach's request.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, maybe it would take only "5 seconds"...but, it might be argued the switching action disrupts the "flow". Also, now that the coach sees his "power'...will he abuse it, in these situations? i.e. Tight game...he likes the way one official lets um' bang on the boards...so he has the crew position itself with that official as L. Probably way over a Coach's thought process ![]() ![]()
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
End of the Endline? | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 4 | Wed Feb 08, 2006 02:57pm |
IHSA Specific Guidelines Available Somewhere? | tskill | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 02, 2005 10:07am |
baseball specific sites? | baseballfreak23 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Sep 08, 2003 08:31pm |
Lead me to the specific rule or cases. | devdog69 | Football | 5 | Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:54pm |
What is specific rule: | DEW | Basketball | 4 | Sun Jan 02, 2000 04:02pm |