![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Whether it was "foul", "horn", "release" OR "foul", "release", "horn" on the make, wouldn't the foul cancel out the shot clock? She'd be in the act of shooting regardless of whether ANY horn went off, right? Again, not trying to sound like a smarta#%, just really intrigued by this question. Thanks!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Think of it as a last shot situation. On your "foul, "horn", "release" the shot will not count due to the horn sounding she did not release the shot before the horn Rule 7-7-5 see exception a & b) although the player started the shooting motion. On the "foul, "release" "horn" the shot will only count if the shooter release the ball before the horn. In this situation you will allow the shooter to complete the try for goal. See Rule 7-7-5 exception c I hope this clear it up a little more.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In theory, I guess I see this. In reality, the length of time for the shooting motion versus the length of time for the obvious timing error which caused the release to come after the buzzer is something which would be almost impossible to occur. Anybody ever see this happen?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
|
Not likely to happen often. It's possible, though, especially if the foul causes a "pump fake" action from the shooter. Or, on a layup, if the foul occurs early in the shooting motion, the entire shooting motion could take a full second or more.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'll look it up tonight. Again, I appreciate the rulebook reference points! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"If a fould occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped before time expires or after time expires, but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal. The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed. No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as it 2-10 is rectified. No free throw(s) shall be attempted after time has expired for 4th q or any extra period, unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game." Still trying to find a rule where it would NOT count the bucket for "foul", "whistle", "horn", "release", where clock couldn't get stopped in time. Any help would be great
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also see case book play 5.6.2SitD. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So here's the exception saying that in this foul case, the ball must be "released" before horn, even though "act of shooting" motion began before horn ended and release came after horn. Thanks a bunch. Just wanted to find it in rule book. It may never happen to me in a game, but if it does, I want to be able to calmly refer the irate coach of the shooter's team to the rule that says the basket does NOT count (and I'm sure he/she will have a litter of kittens on that particular call) Thanks again!
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 90-foot OT basket wins game | Rich | Basketball | 3 | Thu Feb 03, 2005 04:13am |
| which basket is which? | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 45 | Sun May 05, 2002 10:28pm |
| basket or not? | Art N | Basketball | 11 | Fri Oct 27, 2000 01:20pm |
| Wrong Basket in NBA Finals Game 6? | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jun 20, 2000 02:42pm |