The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2000, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 149
Question

I think we have had this before, if so I appologise in advance...
A2 fouls B2 under the boards. Ref blows the whistle while A1's shot is in flight. Is basket good or ball dead? If good, is throw from deisgnated spot (since it was a foul) or run the baseline after a basket?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2000, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
NF: see rule book 6-7 exception 3

The ball doesn't become dead because of the foul.

If the goal is made ,or missed before the bonus B
will get the ball at the spot of the foul(score the
basket if made). If the shot is missed after the bonus is in effect B2 will shoot the bonus(score the basket if made).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2000, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 57
basket or not?

Here's my take ...

NFHS 6-7-9 says the ball remains live until the try ends. So you would count the basket and Team B would be able to run the baseline as per 7-5-7.

NCAA 6-6-1 is basically the same regarding the live ball situation, so you would count the basket. The ruling for A.R.12 under 7-5-6 specifies that team B can run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2000, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Art,
While in college they may make that exception
in NF they do not see NF 7-5-5 rule book or NF 7.5.2c
in the case book.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 20, 2000, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
Art,
While in college they may make that exception
in NF they do not see NF 7-5-5 rule book or NF 7.5.2c
in the case book.
Paul --

I disagree. The case you cited has the foul occurring *before the try* -- IOW, the ball became dead immediately upon the foul, and no basket was scored. Thus, in this case, the throw in is from a designated spot.

In the case that started this thread, the try was already in flight when the foul occurred. The try was good, and counts (as you pointed out in your first post in this thread). Since the basket was good, B gets to run the end-line.

See case 6.7B for an example (in this case the foul occurs during a free-throw, but that distinction doesn't matter).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 20, 2000, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Bob,
T really doesn't matter if the ball was released before or after the foul due to continuous motion. Look at CB 7.5.5
A scores and before B has completed the throw-in A2 fouls the inbound spot is at the spot closest to the foul and B loses the right to run the endline. The NCAA revised its rules this year to correct this but NF still hasn't. The only exception I can find is after a delay warning on the defense the inbounding team may still run the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2000, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 22
If this was a HS game, I would count the basket and give A2 his free throw. Wether or not B could run the endline would depend on the result of the free throw. A makes it then B has the endline. Miss it and ball is still in play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2000, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by fshrake
If this was a HS game, I would count the basket and give A2 his free throw. Wether or not B could run the endline would depend on the result of the free throw. A makes it then B has the endline. Miss it and ball is still in play.
Counting the basket is the correct call. But A2 fouled B2, so there are no FTs for A2.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2000, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 33
A no-brainer! Basket is good if made. If in bonus B2 shoots if not they get the ball on the end line with the right to run the line
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2000, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 122
Send a message via ICQ to moose69
count the hoop, award one foul shot if the basket is made if the foul occured before the shooter returned to the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2000, 10:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Wink Are you sure?

Quote:
Originally posted by moose69
count the hoop, award one foul shot if the basket is made if the foul occured before the shooter returned to the ground.
Yo, moose69,
Reread that, why don'tcha.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2000, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 33
basket or not

Moose69
confusion reigns.. Why would you give the shooter A1 a foul shot when A2 fouled?? The only way there is a spot throw in in this situation is if the foul occured BEFORE the shot,or After the shot, prior to the throw in, or during the throw in that results in foul shots by B, or by a foul or throw in violation by B that would cause B to lose possesion. If the basket counts, B has the right to run the end line....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1