
Tue Mar 18, 2008, 02:24pm
|
We don't rent pigs
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
The rule states the basket shall not count if time has expired prior to the release of the shot. Previously, in NFHS, there was a lag time rule which essentially prohibited officials from putting time back on if the whistle blew with less than 1 second on the clock. This meant, if there was a foul, whistle, horn, release situation (in that order), the basket could not count.
With the removal of lag time, we can now put time back on the clock if we see how much time should be put back on.
IOW, if you have the foul, whistle, horn, release, but one official sees .8 seconds on the clock after the whistle, you can put .8 seconds on the clock. Since time hasn't expired, the basket should count.
|
In theory, I guess I see this. In reality, the length of time for the shooting motion versus the length of time for the obvious timing error which caused the release to come after the buzzer is something which would be almost impossible to occur. Anybody ever see this happen?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
|