![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Shooters foot
Gents,
By rule, there is no error. The shooter started and ended his free throw with a foot on the line. From a game management perspective the call looked BAAAD. From lead I administered the throw and checked the the feet of the rebounders. I did not check the shooters feet, and to be honest, I don't think I have ever checked the shooter's feet from lead. At any point in a game, if I am trail on a free throw and see the shooter lineup with a foot on the line I will step in and PREVENT this violation. If the shooter alights and lands on the line, that's a different story. As to the overrules... In my association we are often held to account for the crew's performance, not just our own. We are sometimes told to step-up, though specific overrules are never discussed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) Read NFHS rule 2-6.You can't overrule another official's call. Question? Does your association have a rules interpreter? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In general, I agree with him. If it can be prevented, do so. Once it happens, however, it's too late. And, even if the crew is evaluated as a whole, there's no cause for overruling -- especially on a judgment issue. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Yeah, you could color me confused. That's why I asked the two questions. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) I certainly don't have a problem with the T finding a reason to re-set the FT either, and maybe whisper a l'il common sense to the FT shooter while doing so. But, as you say, once he calls the violation, that's all she wrote. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But I'm left wondering, how much of his foot was on the line? A toe? An entire foot? was he standing under the basket as he attempted the free throw?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Bob's Right
Bob jenkins has interpreted my words correctly. Rule 9-1-7 was violated, and my partner correctly enforced the violation. I believe the call can, and SHOULD have been prevented.
Jurassic thank you for pointing me at 2-6. In the spirit of that rule, calls are never overruled. Calls may be reversed (by the calling official) when additional information is provided by other crew members. We do have a rules interpreter. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| official blunder | user2535 | Baseball | 8 | Thu May 18, 2006 10:56am |
| Changing your partner's call | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 109 | Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:02pm |
| Partner's story was incredible! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 26 | Sat Jul 06, 2002 05:00pm |
| Correcting Partner's Call | Just Curious | Softball | 12 | Wed Mar 21, 2001 12:03pm |
| Partner's Weird Rotations | rockyroad | Basketball | 1 | Wed Nov 29, 2000 02:46pm |