The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Irrelavant. By definition it is not even a shot since it is at the wrong basket. Player catches ball after dribbling, throws the ball up in the air towards the opponents goal (may or may not hit the backboard or rim) then catches the ball. You've got one of two things: a travel (if it didn't hit anything) or an illegal dribble (if it did hit).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1
You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

... A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
Violation - Dribble rule 9.5 Situation
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1
You make the call (this actually happened in a state tournament game)!

Team A down by 1 point with 5 seconds in the game. Both teams in the bonus. OOB throw end on sideline in A’s backcourt after time out. A1 throws to A2 who is confused and dribbles to the wrong basket and puts up a shot that hits the backboard and then rebounds off of the rim. A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again at the wrong basket.
B1, thinking A2 is about to score, jumps up to block the shot and fouls A2 after the ball leaves A2 hands but before the horn goes off to end the game. Then the ball goes through the basket after the horn.
Yes, all of this happened within the last 5 seconds of the game. Both coaches, all players and all fans are screaming excitedly.
What do you call?
You have just a few seconds to get your crew together and decide. No rule books on the floor.
I'll post the crews correct decision next Monday!
Several of the replies to this thread indicate that the second shot was "not a legitimate shot attempt." Will someone take a few moments to explain to me why the shot attempt is not legitimate. It seems to me, based on the OP "A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again..." that A2 was trying to make a basket (albeit in the wrong hoop). So I don't understand why the shot attempt was not legitimate.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
Several of the replies to this thread indicate that the second shot was "not a legitimate shot attempt." Will someone take a few moments to explain to me why the shot attempt is not legitimate. It seems to me, based on the OP "A2 then jumps up, grabs the rebound and starts to shoot the ball again..." that A2 was trying to make a basket (albeit in the wrong hoop). So I don't understand why the shot attempt was not legitimate.

Thanks for the help.
It has to do with the definition of a try:

Rule 4 - SECTION 41 SHOOTING, TRY, TAP
ART. 2 . . . A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket. A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand as a foul could prevent release of the ball.

While it's true that two points would be scored for B if A1 successfully put the ball into their basket, it is not, by definition, a try. Since it is not a try, several common rules don't apply, like the ball remaining alive after a foul on the shooter, continuous motion, and even a three point goal.

That make sense?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 02:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
BITS, that helps, thanks.

I'm thinking through why a goal made in the wrong basket from behind the 3 point line wouldn't count for three points, since an illegitimate shot inside the 3 point arc counts for two. Is it because in order for the three to count it has to be a legitimate try?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
BITS, that helps, thanks.

I'm thinking through why a goal made in the wrong basket from behind the 3 point line wouldn't count for three points, since an illegitimate shot inside the 3 point arc counts for two. Is it because in order for the three to count it has to be a legitimate try?
ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Tue Jan 23, 2007 at 03:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 03:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
ART. 1 . . . A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4.
Thanks, I appreciat the response.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
Double dribble?

If A2 dribbled down to the wrong goal to shoot, then shoots at the wrong goal and hits the backboard or rim, then catches the ball, thats a double dribble. This happens before any of the other stuff.

If A2 did not dribble, but took a jump shot at the wrong goal, then caught it, that would be a travel.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian
This might be the first time someone's actually misspelled their own name on this forum!
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Sure, you should call the double dribble, but you better do it right away. From the sounds of it, the crew missed the illegal dribble; or at least called it late.
If you miss the double dribble, you need to call the foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:49pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,977
In this situation it's quite possible that the crew did not blow a whistle for a foul deeming their was no advantage gained.

Or maybe they ran in the locker and started a fight with officials from a later game over whether or not officials should be allowed to officiate games involving their alma maters.


OR WHAT MICK SAID.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 03:52pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Grail, either I missed something or you missed something. Wasn't A the offensive team?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Okay I couldn’t wait until Monday!

Ding, ding, ding!!!

All give Frank an ATABOY!

Yes the lead (or trail since the ball should have been going the other way) called a double dribble since A2 stopped her dribble, threw the ball off of her own backboard and then grabbed the ball which is double dribbling! No foul, no basket. All action after the double dribble was ignored since no flagrant action by B1.
Ball OOB to Team B under the basket with about 1 second to go!

(Yes, I must admit I missed this too when the ref asked me about this play!)

This is a great case play that makes you think though!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Annoyed the heck out of me Dakota Softball 11 Mon Sep 22, 2003 03:21pm
Hey, Mark, where the heck are you? rainmaker Basketball 5 Mon Sep 30, 2002 08:05am
What the heck. . .he just spit at me! jumpmaster Baseball 8 Tue Jul 23, 2002 11:17am
Very minor point, but what the heck - it's summer Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Wed Aug 02, 2000 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1