The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Rule 1-10-1:
...and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring.

If it is laying over the top of the ring, it is not suspended beneath.
Where is the rule, case play, or NFHS interpretation that states you stop the game and pull the net back down?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Jan 06, 2007 at 06:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Where is the rule, case play, or NFHS interpretation that states you stop the game and pull the net back down?
Where's the one that states that you don't?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 07:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Where's the one that states that you don't?
NFHS rule 6.7. That rule states very explicitly when the clock should be stopped. If the FED had wanted to stop play for nets hung up, they sureasheck would have put it in 6-7 so that all of us knew and followed a standard procedure. It ain't in there, is it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS rule 6.7. That rule states very explicitly when the clock should be stopped. If the FED had wanted to stop play for nets hung up, they sureasheck would have put it in 6-7 so that all of us knew and followed a standard procedure. It ain't in there, is it?
If you really want to be that stubborn, assume that a circuit breaker for the lights trips but the scoreboard is still on. Are you suggesting that play should continue in the dark since nothing in 6-7 says to stop the clock if the lights go out?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 09:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
If you really want to be that stubborn, assume that a circuit breaker for the lights trips but the scoreboard is still on. Are you suggesting that play should continue in the dark since nothing in 6-7 says to stop the clock if the lights go out?
I supplied a rule. Have you got a rules citation saying something different?

If the FED wanted officials to stop play every time a net hung up, it would be listed to do so in rule 6-7. It isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 03:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I supplied a rule. Have you got a rules citation saying something different?
I did. You chose to ignore it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the FED wanted officials to stop play every time a net hung up, it would be listed to do so in rule 6-7. It isn't.
So, your saying you'll keep playing under any condition that is not explicity listed in 6-7 such as:
  • ball develops a leak and goes flat
  • net get stuck across the rim (and you see a ball bounce off of it)
  • backboard padding becomes dislodged and falls to the floor under the basket
  • the rim breaks
  • the backboard breaks
  • Debris on the court,
  • water on the court
  • lights outf
  • ire in the bleachers
  • etc.
all since you have no explicit rule that tell you to stop the game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Jan 07, 2007 at 04:07am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 08:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I did. You chose to ignore it.

Um, no, I certainly did respond to your citation of rule 1-10-1. For some unknown reason you're ignoring my response. I'm still waiting for you to respond to my question.

Again, using your logic, are you going to stop the game every time the net is hit by a player so that it is no longer suspended vertically 15-18" below the ring? And if not, why not? Don't you believe in the rule being applied equitably and consistently the entire game? Iow, do you advocate calling the rule only some of the time, not all of the time?

Btw, I'm sure if the FED hadda agreed with your interpretation of 1-10-1, it woulda found it's way into R6-7.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Where is the rule, case play, or NFHS interpretation that states you stop the game and pull the net back down?
OK. So Player A1 dunks the ball cleanly and the breakaway rim doesn't return to level. Do you just keep playing with the rim at an angle? I don't know of any rule or case play that addresses it. The team should have a basket as specified in the rules at which to shot their shots....and that doesn't not include a basket that is partially obscured by a net over the top which is far more likely to negatively affect the shot than help it..
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Jan 06, 2007 at 07:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Where's the one that states that you don't?
So now there's supposed to be a list of rules that tell officials what not to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
OK. So Player A1 dunks the ball cleanly and the breakaway rim doesn't return to level. Do you just keep playing with the rim at an angle? I don't know of any rule or case play that addresses it. The team should have a basket as specified in the rules at which to shot their shots....and that doesn't not include a basket that is partially obscured by a net over the top which is far more likely to negatively affect the shot than help it..
Is that supposed to be an answer to my question?

I've never seen a rim not return to it's proper position after a dunk.
I've never seen a net prevent a ball from going through the basket.

Still waiting on that rule, case play, or interp?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Still waiting on that rule, case play, or interp?
So am I.

But since neither one of us has one, my point is that there is just as much support for handling this in either fashion. The official must do what he believes is best at that particular time in that specific situation.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef

Is that supposed to be an answer to my question?

I've never seen a rim not return to it's proper position after a dunk.
I've never seen a net prevent a ball from going through the basket.
I have, on both accounts. I've seen the net so well hooked that it made it impossible for the ball to go through....not just possibly affect it.

What are you going to do when, eventually, that ball springs off the net like a trampoline on each of 2-3 trys by the team. The coach is going to be legitimately furious that you didn't fix the net when it should have been fixed and his team is now without a deserved bucket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Still waiting on that rule, case play, or interp?
I've posted a rule that specifies how the net is supposed to be. I've seen nothing providing a counter to that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
LOL! Exactly. That's all you have. The net has not been removed. It's still suspended from the ring, even if part of it is flipped up. You have nothing that says to stop the game and play with the net.

Congratulations!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
LOL! Exactly. That's all you have. The net has not been removed. It's still suspended from the ring, even if part of it is flipped up. You have nothing that says to stop the game and play with the net.

Congratulations!
If part of it is over the top, how can the net be below the ring??? The definition of suspended is hanging, not laying on top. This is not quantum physics, the net (all of it) is either below the rim or it is not. If the net is not below the rim, it should be.

No one has yet address my question of a breakaway rim not returning to it's normal position after a dunk...one around here did that for a while until the school replaced it. Are you maintaining that since no rule says to fix it, that you'll play with the heavily tilted rim until the next natural whistle? Tough luck for the team that has to shoot at it unless they want to burn a timeout????

I can't believe you'd not stop the game to fix the rim and if you do stop the game, what rule are you using to do so? You can't do so and remain consistent with the net issue. If you fix one, you have to fix the other for the same reason.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 09:17pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I've posted a rule that specifies how the net is supposed to be. I've seen nothing providing a counter to that.
Oh, I get it. Applying that rule all the time, if a player just hits the net so that it moves sideways--the net doesn't get hung up on the rim at all- it just gets knocked sideways so that it is no longer suspended 15"-18" under the ring, that means that we're supposed to immediately blow our whistle and stop play, no matter where the ball is.

Yup, that makes a whole buncha sense.

You and Nevada can follow that one, Camron. I'll go by rule 6-7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oklahoma T Tech hung net MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 39 Fri Jan 23, 2004 08:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1