The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Tip in at the buzzer

I saw this before my JC tournament game yesterday.

Team A (visiting) is down by 1 with 1.1 seconds left to play and must inbound the ball at the 28' mark opposite their bench. Everyone in the gym believes that Team A will set up an alley-oop play.

A1 inbounds the ball and passes it toward his team's rim for the alley-oop. The ball hits the back of the rim, bounces up, back down, rolls around the rim, and finally off the rim (what you have to picture is the players jumping up and down at the ball but no one touches it because their timing with the ball is off).

As the ball rolls off the rim the "horn" sounds to end the game but A2 (while both feet on the ground) quickly shoots the ball into the hoop (but thought the game was over because of the horn). The T & C know that the clock was started incorrectly.

Both teams think the game is over but the officials start to confer. Coach A & B realize what the officials are conferring about. Coach A starts complaining about that he is getting "homered" becauses he is the visiting team. Coach B says his players played the horn and did not defend A2's shot because they thought the game clock expired (and there was a defender right next to A2 when he shot).

1) What would you do?

2) What if either A or B touched the ball while it was on the rim? Basket interference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref

2) What if either A or B touched the ball while it was on the rim? Basket interference?
Yes.

(and, yes, I'm ignoring question #1).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Chicken.

I would put 1.1 seconds back on the clock and we would inbound the ball again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2006, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Chicken.

I would put 1.1 seconds back on the clock and we would inbound the ball again.
I hate these clock starts late/early problems. FWIW, I agree with Tony in this case. As much as this looks like a do-over, it really isn't. You are just applying the POI rule. You are deeming the ball dead when the horn sounds and have definite knowledge of how much time to put back on the clock. We also know where the throw-in should come from due to the FED's clarification of ball location this year.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Wow! I have no idea what I would do. While I agree that you could put 1.1 back ont he clock and a new throw-in, you will probably have to answer later to someone when the A Coach says his team won the game. Unfortunately, this is going to be bad either way so I think the best way to handle it IS to put the 1.1 seconds back on the clock and re-do the throw-in. What did the officials do?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 03:21pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Chicken.

I would put 1.1 seconds back on the clock and we would inbound the ball again.

Tony, I agree with you that we have a to inbound the ball again with 1.1 seconds on the clock, but where would you inbound the ball?

This is not a do over, so I would inbound the ball on Team A's endline. Team A, should not be penalized because of the Timer's mistake. Making Team A inbound the ball from the original throw-in would penalize them for the Timer's mistake.

This play is not different from the other plays of the same nature that has been discussed over the last couple of years, such as the one I posted last month that took place in Michigan.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Tony, I agree with you that we have a to inbound the ball again with 1.1 seconds on the clock, but where would you inbound the ball?

This is not a do over, so I would inbound the ball on Team A's endline.
MTD,
The description in the OP is a little confusing. I took the sequence to be:
1. Thrower releases the ball
2. The ball bounces around on the ring
3. The players are jumping up, but unable to touch the ball.
4. The ball comes off the front of the ring and is falling down towards A2 when the horn sounds. The horn sounded PRIOR to A2 touching the ball.
5. A2 catches the ball and quickly tosses it into the basket.


If that is the proper sequence, then 4-4-3 applies and the POI is the spot of the original throw-in. The NFHS made ball location clear in an interp this year.

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 2: Post players A5 and B5 are called for a double personal foul while the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 in A's backcourt to A2 in A's frontcourt. RULING: Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in in A's backcourt nearest to where A1 was last in contact with the ball. (4-4-3; 4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)


So, if A2 had caught the ball before the horn sounded, but had been unable to release the ball on a try for goal prior to the horn sounding, then I would agree with you that the POI throw-in should be on the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 08:26am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
MTD,
The description in the OP is a little confusing. I took the sequence to be:
1. Thrower releases the ball
2. The ball bounces around on the ring
3. The players are jumping up, but unable to touch the ball.
4. The ball comes off the front of the ring and is falling down towards A2 when the horn sounds. The horn sounded PRIOR to A2 touching the ball.
5. A2 catches the ball and quickly tosses it into the basket.


If that is the proper sequence, then 4-4-3 applies and the POI is the spot of the original throw-in.
If the ball touches the backboard, instead of only the ring, then would the throw-in spot be on the endline?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 08:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If the ball touches the backboard, instead of only the ring, then would the throw-in spot be on the endline?
What difference would it make if the throw-in wasn't touched by a player on the floor before the horn went off? What rule can you apply to put a new throw-in on the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
I would inbound the ball on Team A's endline.
Using what rule? If the ball is not touched, the clock never starts. If the ball goes in the basket or out of bounds prior to being touched, its a violation with the throw in at the original spot.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 04:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
This is not a do over, so I would inbound the ball on Team A's endline. Team A, should not be penalized because of the Timer's mistake. Making Team A inbound the ball from the original throw-in would penalize them for the Timer's mistake.
Heckuva idea. Don't penalize team A. Let's penalize team B instead by giving team A better floor position when there's no rule extant saying you can do so. That's a much better idea than just repeating the play and giving neither team an advantage that can't be justified by anything in the rules. Yup, heckuva idea.

If it isn't a "do-over", then what is it, Mark? Rules citation with your answer, please. If you can find a rule that will let you issue a brand new and different throw-in at a spot that you get to choose, I'll be ....well... surprised.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 01, 2007 at 05:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Heckuva idea. Don't penalize team A. Let's penalize team B instead by giving team A better floor position when there's no rule extant saying you can do so. That's a much better idea than just repeating the play and giving neither team an advantage that can't be justified by anything in the rules. Yup, heckuva idea.

If it isn't a "do-over", then what is it, Mark? Rules citation with your answer, please.
I gotta agree with JR here, but leave it to a dinosaur to use a word like "extant" in proper context!
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 05:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow
but leave it to a dinosaur to use a word like "extant" in proper context!
I'm not just another pretty face, y'know.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
This play is not different from the other plays of the same nature that has been discussed over the last couple of years, such as the one I posted last month that took place in Michigan.

MTD, Sr.
That's true.

It's also true that everyone else always disagrees with your rulings on those other plays.

Noboby touches the ball before time expires. Therefore, I'm going back to the original spot.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 01, 2007, 12:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref
I
Coach A starts complaining about that he is getting "homered" becauses he is the visiting team.
1) What would you do?
Give coach A a "T" for calling me a "homer", of course.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul-buzzer-shot BloggingRefGuy Basketball 17 Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:48am
My first almost buzzer beater..... Chess Ref Basketball 2 Sat Feb 18, 2006 03:28pm
Call before the buzzer mplagrow Basketball 1 Thu Feb 09, 2006 08:21pm
Buzzer-Beater Grail Basketball 2 Fri Dec 05, 2003 01:42am
Basket at the Buzzer? TheMom Basketball 1 Tue Feb 29, 2000 10:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1