![]() |
|
|
|||
Time Out for Injury
B1 fouls A1. A1 is injured.Team A in bonus.Team A coach summoned on court for the injury. Team A calls time out to keep A1 in the game. Team A substitutes for A1 prior to first horn during time out. Is this legal?
|
|
|||
If A1 has recovered and is able to play by the end of the time-out, then he must attempt the FTs for the personal foul. If A1 is unable to play due to the injury despite the extra time provided by the time-out that his team took, then his substitute must enter and attempt the FTs.
|
|
|||
nuke --
I'm not sure what you're asking. If A takes a time out to keep the player in, and then the sub comes in prior to the first horn anyway, it's legal, as long as the sub takes the shots, and then A1 can't return until the next dead ball/clock stoppage. Does that cover it? |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW, please refrain from using the words in red. That kind of coach-speak only serves to perpetuate basketball myths. A1 never left the game. He has been a player the entire time. No other team member has substituted for him, right? So why does he need to be bought "back into the game?" ![]() All the time-out does is allow A1 to remain in the game. |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
Unfortunately, there is a tremendous potential for abuse of this rule at the NFHS and NCAA levels. The NBA insists that the player who was fouled attempt the FT, if a substitute must enter and take the shots then the original player is out for the remainder of the game. |
|
|||
Quote:
The NBA rule should be the high school rule. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Injury? | fonzzy07 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:30pm |
Injury/time out | TriggerMN | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 02, 2006 09:01am |
Time out for Blood/Injury | Blackhawk357 | Basketball | 11 | Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:23pm |
Injury Time Out | umpguy2190 | Baseball | 2 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 06:20pm |
Injury | LDUB | Baseball | 4 | Fri Aug 15, 2003 07:30am |