The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Neither, necessarily. The player could reach over and touch the ball in the backcourt (or on the line) and create a backcourt violation, if that player's team was in team control at the time, and that player's team was the last to touch the ball prior to it entering the backcourt.

NFHS Rule 9-9-1 A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Or...the ball could fully return to the frontcourt and the offensive player could be the first to touch it there after it has been in the backcourt and last touched by that player or a teammate. So reaching over the plane isn't really even required.

But I believe that the poster was simply asking what Dexter answered for him.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? DKaiser Basketball 3 Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:17pm
Backcourt Violation Derrick Basketball 3 Thu Oct 19, 2006 03:39pm
Backcourt Violation ? tnroundballref Basketball 28 Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm
Backcourt violation??? jshock Basketball 10 Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1