The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30132-backcourt-violation.html)

ripcord51 Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:42pm

Backcourt violation
 
On a backcourt violation call. Must the offensive player step over the half court line or just touch the line?

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ripcord51
On a backcourt violation call. Must the offensive player step over the half court line or just touch the line?

With the caveat that there are several ways in which a backcourt violation can occur, the situation to which you are referring only requires that the player touch the line. The entire dividing line is, by rule, in the offensive team's backcourt. (4-13-2)

HawkeyeCubP Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ripcord51
On a backcourt violation call. Must the offensive player step over the half court line or just touch the line?

Neither, necessarily. The player could reach over and touch the ball in the backcourt (or on the line) and create a backcourt violation, if that player's team was in team control at the time, and that player's team was the last to touch the ball prior to it entering the backcourt.

NFHS Rule 9-9-1 A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 13, 2006 03:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Neither, necessarily. The player could reach over and touch the ball in the backcourt (or on the line) and create a backcourt violation, if that player's team was in team control at the time, and that player's team was the last to touch the ball prior to it entering the backcourt.

NFHS Rule 9-9-1 A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Or...the ball could fully return to the frontcourt and the offensive player could be the first to touch it there after it has been in the backcourt and last touched by that player or a teammate. So reaching over the plane isn't really even required. ;)

But I believe that the poster was simply asking what Dexter answered for him.

mbyron Wed Dec 13, 2006 08:05am

Had a situation relevant to the thread the other night. Team A scored, then Team B advanced the ball through their backcourt. As B1 dribbled across the division line, A1 was there waiting for him and slowed him to a walk.

B1 was dribbling and turned his body so that the ball was away from A1, still in the backcourt. B1 then stepped over the line with both feet, but the ball continued to bounce in the backcourt. Team A coach started calling "over and back!" I shook my head.

I was taught that the dribbler has to have 2 feet and the ball in the frontcourt before a backcourt violation becomes possible. My thinking was that the ball never bounced in the frontcourt, and so there was no backcourt violation.

Is that right?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 13, 2006 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron

B1 was dribbling and turned his body so that the ball was away from A1, still in the backcourt. <font color = red>B1 then stepped over the line with both feet, but the ball continued to bounce in the backcourt</font>. Team A coach started calling "over and back!" I shook my head.

I was taught that the dribbler has to have 2 feet and the ball in the frontcourt before a backcourt violation becomes possible. My thinking was that the ball never bounced in the frontcourt, and so there was no backcourt violation.

Is that right?

Did the dribbled ball touch B1's hand while B1 had both feet in the frontcourt?

BktBallRef Wed Dec 13, 2006 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
Had a situation relevant to the thread the other night. Team A scored, then Team B advanced the ball through their backcourt. As B1 dribbled across the division line, A1 was there waiting for him and slowed him to a walk.

B1 was dribbling and turned his body so that the ball was away from A1, still in the backcourt. B1 then stepped over the line with both feet, but the ball continued to bounce in the backcourt. Team A coach started calling "over and back!" I shook my head.

I was taught that the dribbler has to have 2 feet and the ball in the frontcourt before a backcourt violation becomes possible. My thinking was that the ball never bounced in the frontcourt, and so there was no backcourt violation.

Is that right?

Yes, that's right.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 13, 2006 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did the dribbled ball touch B1's hand while B1 had both feet in the frontcourt?

What difference does that make?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What difference does that make?

Just trying to stimulate thought....and discord....and pandemonium.

TimTaylor Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Just trying to stimulate thought....and discord....and pandemonium.

Sometimes known as mixing manure....:D :D :D

Nevadaref Thu Dec 14, 2006 04:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did the dribbled ball touch B1's hand while B1 had both feet in the frontcourt?

Bad, bad, JR. Now go officiate three frosh girls games! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1