![]() |
|
|||
Disconcerting Thrower
Had a situation in a game last night: A1 shooting free throws, and B1 in the lane claps and says "I got shooter, I got shooter" just as he throws.
Rule 9.1.5 says: "No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower." I'm taking "disconcert" to be a "success term": the opponent has failed to disconcert if the free throw is good. As it happened, the player (B1) did this twice, and the shooters made both shots. I signaled "delayed dead," but did not blow the whistle after the shot went in. I warned my partner, but said nothing to the player. Question: did I handle this correctly? I thought about warning the player, but maybe getting called for the violation would make a bigger impression. Frosh boys game, if that makes a difference.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Disconcerting | lmeadski | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:14am |
Disconcerting the free thrower? | fan | Basketball | 17 | Thu Nov 17, 2005 09:19am |
Interesting method of disconcerting a free thrower | Damian | Basketball | 4 | Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:10pm |
Disconcerting action. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 17 | Tue Dec 31, 2002 02:44pm |
Disconcerting the shooter/Fed | camaulds | Basketball | 41 | Fri Mar 15, 2002 11:54pm |