The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nu1
I believe this was discussed on a recent thread. If so, could someone kindly post the link...or recap this for me. (Yes, you could post it rudely also.)

On a throw-in, A1 is out of bounds and throws to A2 who is airborne having jumped from the front court. While airborne, A2 passes the ball to A3 who is in the backcourt.
Violation NFHS?
Violation NCAA?
NFHS: Violation
NCAA: Legal (so I've been told, and I accept, but I have a hard time "proving" it in the book)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 11:11am
Nu1 Nu1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 132
Thanks Bob.

I've been told / read the same for NCAA, but I can't figure it out myself. Rule 9-12.8 says on a throw-in or jump ball an airborne player who secures control of the ball in the front court shall not be permitted to cause the ball to go into the back court. The only exception listed is the defensive player going airborne...intercepting a pass...and landing in the back court. (Of course 9-12.7 says an offensive player can secure and land in the back court off of a throw-in or jump ball.)

But I can't see how the scenario of A1 out of bounds...throwing it in to airborne A2 (from the front court)...who throws it to A3 in the back court is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
I had a play last night. Start of the quarter. A1 passes the ball to A2 who jumps from the front court, catches the ball while in the air and lands in the back court. I blew the whistle and called a backcourt violation thinking that A2 had already established his position in the front court when he caught the ball and had not established his posiition in the back court (which would've been legal if he was already there).

An assignor that I work for happened to be at the game and came into the locker room afterwards and said I should've not called that, that it was a legal play as it was an inbounds play. I had enough sense not to debate it, but I've been thinking about it today at work and thought I 'd run it by the best source other than the books themselves....you folks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
I had a play last night. Start of the quarter. A1 passes the ball to A2 who jumps from the front court, catches the ball while in the air and lands in the back court. I blew the whistle and called a backcourt violation thinking that A2 had already established his position in the front court when he caught the ball and had not established his posiition in the back court (which would've been legal if he was already there).

An assignor that I work for happened to be at the game and came into the locker room afterwards and said I should've not called that, that it was a legal play as it was an inbounds play. I had enough sense not to debate it, but I've been thinking about it today at work and thought I 'd run it by the best source other than the books themselves....you folks.
AS discussed previously in this thread, it's not a violation. It's one of the specific "exceptions" (now in the rule) in the backcouort violation section of rule 9.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
Thanks Bob.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 12:17pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
I had a play last night. Start of the quarter. A1 passes the ball to A2 who jumps from the front court, catches the ball while in the air and lands in the back court. I blew the whistle and called a backcourt violation thinking that A2 had already established his position in the front court when he caught the ball and had not established his posiition in the back court (which would've been legal if he was already there).

An assignor that I work for happened to be at the game and came into the locker room afterwards and said I should've not called that, that it was a legal play as it was an inbounds play. I had enough sense not to debate it, but I've been thinking about it today at work and thought I 'd run it by the best source other than the books themselves....you folks.

That specific exception is illustrated in the comic book also.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 08:51am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nu1
On a throw-in, A1 is out of bounds and throws to A2 who is airborne having jumped from the front court. While airborne, A2 passes the ball to A3 who is in the backcourt.

Violation NCAA?
NCAA: Legal (so I've been told, and I accept, but I have a hard time "proving" it in the book)
Why would this be legal under NCAA rules? If anything, it's harder to support as being legal because team control exists during the throw-in (unlike NFHS).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Why would this be legal under NCAA rules? If anything, it's harder to support as being legal because team control exists during the throw-in (unlike NFHS).
My guess (and it's just a guess) is that this used to be legal (and clear) in the NCAA rule book. When they had that massive rewrite back in '00 (or so), the clarity of the rule was lost.

Someone who is closer to the NCAA rules committee / editor would have to ask if the rule still exists.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation? New2AZref Basketball 14 Mon May 01, 2006 10:51pm
Backcourt violation? vawils Basketball 4 Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:23am
Backcourt Violation BroD Basketball 15 Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:51am
Backcourt violation? mrt1963 Basketball 7 Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1